We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Llangefni, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wedding Day”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A beautiful wedding venue.

We decided to hold our wedding ceremony, reception and evening party at Tre-Ysgawen. It was a fantastic choice made. We made contact with Richard Hughes the manager and he helped us through the planning stages and was always there to answer any questions we had.

Our wedding ceremony was held in the Britannia Room which was perfectly set out for a beautiful ceremony. Our flowers were set out and in this room to begin with, however the staff had no problems with moving flowers from one room to another. Nothing was a problem. It saved us money by moving flowers around!

To follow, our reception was held in the Conservatory. The name doesn't describe how spacious the room is. The food was delicious. We had a pre wedding tasting of the menu which was free of charge a few months prior to our wedding day. Iwan Williams the Head Chef gave us numerous choices to choose from. After a lot of discussions (it wasn't easy to choose they all sounded lovely) we chose two different starters, two mains and two desserts beforehand to aid the process of choosing the final reception menu. The food was so delicious, it was difficult to choose between them! However the choice had to be made. On the day itself the food was excellently presented and was very tasty! Beautiful and delicious!Our guests keep on telling us how much they enjoyed the food.

The evening party went well. Yet again the evening buffet was excellently presented and there was plenty of food available for guests to choose from. The hotel staff had moved the flowers from the Conservatory to the Anglesey Suite. I had forgotten to mention this but obviously the staff know exactly what to do and do it without any fuss. Staff with common sense.

We had a beautiful room to stay the night in, with a jacuzzi bath. Luxurious to say the least. Not forgetting the beautiful gardens with plenty of hiding places for children to play and plenty of spaces for taking photographs. A fantastic day! An unforgettable day. Thank you Tre-Ysgawen. Diolch yn fawr.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndaf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your wedding day, the whole wedding was stunning. Hope to see you again soon. Diolch yn fawr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    175
    78
    25
    20
See reviews for
91
388
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here midweek & it was the ideal escape to allow us both to completely relax.
We stayed in room 7 which was worth the upgrade to experience the 4poster & much larger bath big enough for two!
Staff were extremly pleasant & went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect.
The quality of local produce sourced for breakfast was lovely!
We are always glad to stay as we never get phone signal inside the hotel which means our stay is evenmore uninterupted by friends, family or work! Free WiFi for guests is a welcome bonus.
Thanks to TreYsGawen & the team for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay again. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay which was a birthday treat.The approach is along a narrow country lane which then opens up to a beautiful mansion house and grounds.Once inside this building it just oozes character and you feel it could be part of a period drama.We used the spa area which was brilliant,loved the sea salt steam room.Our evening meal was taken in Noelle,s restaurant which is billed as fine dining experience,and lived up to its title,the beef was the best i have tasted.A mention must be made about the staff who were helpfull,pleasent and did everything with a smile.So in short,great location,great facilities,great staff can,t go wrong really.

Room Tip: room 7 very quiet,has a great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nielsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your time with us at the hall and that the team took care of you. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights in a splendid luxury Manor House Hotel what more can I say other than excellent evening meals in the Clock Tower Restaurant, delicious breakfasts, wonderful service and friendly helpful staff especially Daniel in the Clock Tower. The spa was very relaxing with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and large swimmimng pool. We would highly reccomend this hotel for couples wanting a relaxing treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. Glad to hear you had a ncie break and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The approach to the hotel is all you need, to know this is going to be special. The old country house stands in 11 acres of woodland has its own perfectly maintained gardens. The steps up to the massive old oak door are like the steps into another era. The reception is in the old porch and leads to the old hall way with its skylight, sweeping staircase and doors into the beautiful public areas - a bar, restaurant, conservatory (breakfast area) and library.

You can't help but imagine glamorous weekend parties taking the same steps or an Agatha Cristie style denouncement of a murderer taking place as a member of staff guides you to your room.

While our room was nothing less than you would expect, it is the staff that make this hotel special. From reception to dinner no-one could have done more to make us feel that our enjoyment was their number one priority, without encroaching - a fine skill.

The hotel is pretty much central on Anglesey - I would just advise taking a good map as our sat nav didn't have a clue where we were, and you won't want to be late for dinner.

The hotel boasts three places to eat. We didn't eat in the bar, but did enjoy an aperitif as we placed our order for Noelle's. This main restaurant is billed as a fine dining experience and that is spot on. Five courses (including an amuse bouche and a sorbet) are made with local ingredients, are well presented and cost a reasonable £35.95 a head plus wine.

On our second night we didn't think our stomachs would cope with the volume of our first dinner, so we went to the Clock Tower Restaurant. More brasserie in style, the Clock Tower gave us many options and, again, left us unable to do much more than wobble back to our rooms. Both are open to non-residents and worth visiting if staying on Anglesey.

It may go without saying that breakfast is generous, fresh and tasty. We had full Welsh breakfasts, fresh fruit, porridge with Welsh honey and a little taste of the pastries on offer - not all at the same sitting, I hasten to add.

With a relaxed, calming atmosphere, the Spa provides an ideal way of relaxing after a day out on the island. A 16m swimming pool is surrounded by loungers, and two 'hot' rooms (including an Anglesey salt spray), an experience shower, ice bucket and whirlpool. I also enjoyed an excellent whole body massage (£45 for 50 minutes, which included the 10% hotel residents discount).

Room Tip: Even though we were over the porch we heard no noise during the night - I suspect all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed yoursleves on your visit to the hall and thank you for your review and taking the time to write it. We do hope to welcome you back at the hall again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, having stayed here before to attend a wedding of a relative. We were very impressed the first time and the impression remained on this occasion. The first time we were in the old part of the huge manor house but the second time we were accommodated in the newer part, built around the Spa. Both rooms were large and comfortably furnished with seating and a table. The Spa was terrific with a large, warm pool as well as sauna, steam-room and Jacuzzi. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent, though a little on the expensive side. This is a hotel where one can be seriously pampered - at a price!

Room Tip: The newer rooms are built around a closed garden with a table and chairs on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waidew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the review and nice to see you returned and weren't dissapointed. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were in a party of 8 staying for 2 nights here. It felt like a mini holiday. Tre-Ysgawen Hall is very impressive as you enter, the decor is that of a country house, not a bland standard hotel lobby.. Our room was upstairs, just off the galleried landing and was very comfortable and plenty big enough. Our bathroom was large too. We ate in The Clock Tower, both nights as the menu was varied and our second night had a 'French' theme (the 'trio of fish' starter was superb). The pool and spa were excellent, and we were able to relax there after a day's walk, for an hour or so before dinner. We honestly wished we had booked an extra night. Breakfast was very good and had enough variety to suit all tastes and after dinner, on both nights, we took our coffee in the library/sitting room, The staff were very, very helpful, particularly Tina on reception and Daniel in The ClockTower. We will certainly return to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, hopefully before too long and next time book a longer stay. We would recommend this country House Hotel to anyone visiting Anglesey, or just wanting an 'escape' from the rat-race.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beanydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review and taking the time to write it. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you. Hope to welcome you back shortly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
658 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
676 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Wales/Llangefni, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing