We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Old world charm with good food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My room was a bit old fashioned, but of a high standard with a comfortable bed and a powerful shower over a large corner bath. The hotel felt very "country house" old world and is possibly better suited to guests of a certain age rather than young couples.

We had dinner as a business group of around 15 and the quality, presentation and service were excellent (best steak I've had in the UK for a long time), though perhaps a bit expensive. Breakfast was faultless.

Others have said the hotel is isolated; in reality it is in the centre of the island and about 40 minutes drive from most places you would want to visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for the review, hope you visit us again soon for another amazing steak :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    179
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
91
400
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have been there on a number of occasions, but not to stay over..

The staff are very attentive and the drinks reasonable and food above par. He surroundings are nice, but as a previous reviewer said it’s a little isolated, but, having said that its possibly an advantage..

I would say that it’s not for everyone, its refined and sophisticated, yet they have a knack of making you feel wanted and that’s something that I appreciated.

I no longer go there, long story, but it brings back too many memories of a ‘lost soul’..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiftZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Many thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you don't travel to the hotel anymore due to memories of a lost soul, but in time I do hope this will change :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at Tre-Ysgawen Hall. We chose this for our joint birthday break, but the hotel was not aware. When we arrived, we were quickly booked in and shown to our room. It was a standard double, but was well decorated, clean and of a standard we would expect of a 5 star hotel. After spending some time in the spa we chose to dine in the hotel main restaurant that night, and enjoyed a very high quality and well presented meal.
The following morning we had a full Welsh breakfast, and then spent the y touring Anglesey. We came back about 3:00 and spent a couple of hours in the spa, thoroughly enjoying the sauna, steam room and hot tub. We eat in the Clock Towewr restaurant that night, and enjoyed good service and great food again.
After backfast on the last day we both had a massage, my wife having a hot stones massage, and I had a back and shoulder massage. Both masseur's were very professional, and gave great service. We then had a coffee and left feeling very relaxed and refreshed.
The staff were friendly and courteous. Every member of staff, be they cleaners, bar staff or waiters all spoke and asked if we were having a good time. They couldn't have treated us better if they had known it was a special occasion for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch1lled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. Glad you had a really good time, hope to see you again soon sometime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hall and spa are lovely. Peaceful location with attentive staff. Our room was in the new wing, some distance from the reception, but closer to the spa area. Our room seemed a little small. The fixtures and fittings were all a little tired and the room is in need of a makeover to bring it back up. In a hotel of this standard, we would have expected a Movie and Sports channel option on the television, not just the basic free-sat! The hotel wifi didn't work in our room, but seemed fine in the public areas. There is little or no mobile phone signal in the hotel. The public rooms have an old world charm. 12 foot ceilings with full length draped windows, comfy traditional furniture and log fires a plenty. The food was excellent in the main restaurant although a little pricey. Breakfast was faultless. The Clocktower bistro adjacent to the spa is more modern with a variety of snacks and meals available. a large screen television & leather settees in 3 sitting areas gives the Clocktower a more "spa club room" feel, which is nice. The spa was very clean and well looked after. Staff were all helpful, polite and friendly. The facilities were all nice, but the sauna is a little dated. Would we visit again? Possibly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emguzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to review us. We have just completed refurbing some of the bedroomsin the old house and these are quite popular. We are looking into the broadband situation as it is suppose to completely cover the hotel. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well, what a surprise!
Stayed here for a night on 1st November 2012 just to see if there were any changes to the hotel and restaurant after a 'not impressed' stay in Nov. 2011.
I found the whole experience 100% better. The most change was in the staff's attitude. Everyone was more than welcoming, very personable, attentive and in general very helpful and friendly.

We stayed in the new wing overlooking a lovely small garden area. The room was very clean, modern and stylish. Wi-fi was available but somehow I couldn't get it to work. The TV needed a bit of attention to fire it up but was organised within minutes once reception had been informed.

The spa is still being updated, but still able to be used and, wow, was I impressed! Tropical showers, new steam room and sauna, even crushed ice on hand for when you want a cool down after the hot rooms.

We had dinner in the Clocktower restaurant around 7.30ish and again, superb. Homecooked chips, fresh sole on the bone, well everything just great.

We got a good nights sleep and woke up to a breakfast that, well, you couldn't have asked for more. I hate this phrase, but the 'girl' that looked after us was absolutely fantastic.

The thing that was the same as last year were the gardens. They are spectacular with many valuable scupltures amongst the well tended mature shrubs and trees.

All in all it was a gamble that paid off more than I would have imagined, so well done Tre-Ysgawen-Hall Country House Hotel & Spa.
It's just the sort of place you could go to with some pals for a healthy boot camp session.
The location is ideal for us as we like it to be a bit secluded, so just bear that in mind.

Hope to see you next year for a few more days stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Glad to hear your recent visit went well and that your experience was much better. We do our best to act on feedback to imporve a customers stay so I am glad to hear that it does work and that you noticed a difference. :) Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have eaten here twice now and on both occasions I have not been disappointed. It can be a bit expensive but its well worth the cost with excellent food and 1st class service I would recommend it to anyone for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for the review :) So glad you have been enjoying our dining experience. Hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

stayed at the hotel last week and had a really lovely stay, we had a room in the new part of the hotel and it was really comfortable and quite. the breakfast was amazing and kept us full till evening. the spa is really good with great size pool. the staff were very nice particularly on reception. we had a meal on the first night in the formal dining room and is did lack atmosphere, the food was good but the portions were not very big and the prices a bit on the pricey side.
on the 3rd night we ate in the clock tower, it was a set menu with really good portions and reasonable prices. the only thing that I would have liked in both resturants would have been more imagination on the vegetarian meals and more choice. the staff at breakfast were not very organised leaving diners sat at tables that were not set

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay overall and I will speakto the head chef regarding look at the vegetarian choices. We have also implemented a system for breakfast to ensure that customers are shown to a table that is correctly set for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Wales/Llangefni, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing