We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try!”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Llangefni B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I read the reviews before going and I honestly didn't want to stay here.

What a surprise!!!

OK, so the hotel's computer said we only had reservation for 1 night, but fortunately, we had the email confirming 2 nights. The girl on the reception desk didn't seem to have the inclination or knowledge of how to correct this and simply said "the manager will be in at 7:00pm, he'll sort it out". When we spoke to the manager, he had no knowledge and the girl looked at us and slipped out quickly!!!

From then on, everything went really well. The rooms we had were 2 single rooms on the courtyard and they were warm, clean and comfortable with huge bathrooms and excellent showers. There was some noise from the chavs driving up the main street with their car stereo turned up, but that isn't a complaint against the hotel.

We had good evening meals, and a decent selection of wines, spirits and beers on tap. The service was excellent, efficient and friendly. Breakfast was served between 7:00 and 9:30 and again, the food and selection was excellent too. Once again service was excellent, friendly and efficient.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 242 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2009

We were really scared about staying after reading some of the reviews on here but had already booked using our tesco vouchers. I rang the hotel to tell them of my concerns, they were lovely and very reassuring! I was still a little hesitant but that soon went as we pulled up outside! The hotel looked beautiful from the outside :)
The man on the desk was so polite and helpful - we couldnt believe our luck! We had already eaten before we got there (again after reading the reviews on here had put us off!) but the menu and the food looked good. We retreated to our room - 4 poster bed which was really special and cosy! The bathroom was a bit tired but clean. We had a good laugh watching the people fall out of the pub opposite but there were no rowdy youths or people sniffing glue as has been mentioned in a previous review!!
Breakfast was good and we walked to the Kyffin Williams exhibition which was fab!! That was the only thing to see in the town really but everyone was friendly enough! We had a fab time driving around the island taking in all the beaches - which are very pretty! All the staff were really lovely in the hotel :) We were so pleased with the stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesBeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

The Bull sits in the heart of Llangefni, an impressive building with original accomodation inside and relatively new looking accomodation in out buildings.
We had 2 rooms - one inside, one in the outbuildings. Our double room in the original building was very cold (even with an extra free standing electric fire). The fixtures and fittings were tired, with an adequate en-suite. The out building room was warm and furnished adequately. The service was friendly, the 'bar' food was mixed (two undercooked steak and ale pies) but OK priced at £6.95 for size of portion. The 'a la carte' menu was disastrous 3 meals left uneaten and full refunds accepted. The accompanying bar is pleasant with sports channels aplenty. Expected far more.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyFoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

The location of the hotel was good, but overall service was poor. On arrival one of the beds was unmade and when we asked at the reception we were handed the linen to make the bed ourselves! After the first night we noticed water dripping from the door frame leading to the bathroom. This had soaked a shirt left hanging from the hook on the door. We reported this, but recieved no apology. On a positive note, the food was good and the waitresses were friendly. However, we would not particularly visit again and are unsure how it could have been awarded 4 stars.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Travelgirl0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Oh dear. How in the world did this hotel earn 4 stars? We stayed here for two nights, for a family party prior to a trip to Dublin, and were glad to leave. It is one of those places that uses the excuse 'historic' in order to get away with being run down and neglected. It needs a thorough clean and redecoration. Our family room was dirty - the carpets needed a good hoover and the surfaces had not seen a duster. There were repulsive bowls of dust and hair covered pot pourri on the grubby windowsill. The cups on the tea tray were just about clean but the saucers and single teaspoon were stained with coffee and sugar and had obviously not been washed. The 'wall mounted' TV was hanging off the wall at an angle and you had to crick your neck to watch it - surely someone had a screw driver to repair it? It could have fallen off at any time and was dangerous. The lights were too dim to read by. The shower swung from boiling to freezing. The curtains were dirty. Food was OK - but breakfast was not served till 8am which is no use to people like ourselves who had to catch the 8.55 ferry from Holyhead. No offer of early toast or cereal(although it was laid out the night before) and we were still charged for breakfast even though they knew we were leaving early. The place was seriously understaffed - good job we paid the night before we left as the hotel was dark and deserted at 7.30 in the morning with just a phone number to ring for assistance. The day before the sole member of staff on duty had to serve breakfast to a full dining room, clear tables, answer the phone and deal with guests checking out. Not efficient and we felt sorry for the poor girl who was rushed off her feet. She needed some assistance.
However the worst thing is the noise from the drunken yobs who spend most of the day (from about noon until the very early hours of the morning) in front of the Bull. They shouted, swore, sung, howled, bayed at the moon, revved car engines and hooted horns until almost dawn. Sleep was impossible and our 17 year old daughter could not leave the hotel in the middle of the afternoon without being jeered at.
We would not stay at the Bull again and would not recommend it to anyone else either. I am struggling to think of anything good to say about the place! The young staff were friendly and pleasant but there weren't enough and there seemed to be no-one in charge. There was no comparison between The Bull and and the excellent 3 Star Hotel we used in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

My partner and I booked into the Bull for two nights as part of a tour of Wales. When we arrived there was a skip in the carpark filled with loft insulation. The reception area was dirty and cluttered - there must have obviously been a delivery of somesort that had not been dealt with. The room was situated at the front of the hotel and we paid extra for the four poster bed. It was dirty, the curtains and bedcover were smelly. The carpet had obviously never seen a vaccum for days! I couldnt really see the point of a small portable tv sited high up on a shelf in the top corner of the room. The bathroom was smelly and very basic - enough said! We ate in the restaurent and the food was ok but the service awful. The waitress got the order wrong and my partner sent his back when she served it at the table and she had her thumb in the mashed potato. Needless to say we booked out the next day after only one night. And we were not the only ones. Two couples were also at reception in front of us doing the same thing. We still talk about it today as the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. As time passes you can laugh about it but it was not funny a the time!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukholidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Not much to write home about, room was ok but a little bit worn, food was decent pub far but the ting of a microwave was pretty obvious but the staff were very nice. Worse thing about the stay was the fact that I had no hot water in the mroning and so had to trapse outside to take a shower in one of the outdoor cabins! I would avoid and stay in Beaumaris in future.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
3.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
335 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
379 reviews
8.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Bulkley Square, Llangefni LL77 7LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llangefni
Price Range: $87 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the most central hotels in North Wales. Ideal for exploring the coasts of the Isle of Anglesey. Only 20 minutes from the ferry terminal to Ireland. 20 rooms to a 4 star coaching inn standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wales/Llangefni, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing