We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food give it a try”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Llangefni B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I and my family had a fantastic meal at this hotel. Though I live in this town and might be considered bias , I would not post a positive review if it wasn't deserved!!.The restaurant had a lovely homely feel with a large open fire place. We were a party of 7 who had a variety of meals I recommend the following :- the duck or the half and half (half roast chicken and half rack of ribs) and i highly recommend the home made chips they are superb!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mellyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It has a long history and the building reflects a faded glory. However, much needs to be done to improve this hotel. On the plus side, this is a low budget hotel and it is reflected in the price of £176 or thereabouts for three nights. The staff are very personable, accommodating and try their very best to make the guest experience as good as possible. The reception staff try to make you welcome, and they succeed. There is a very good and free Wi-Fi connection. Other than the main hotel there is a courtyard area to the rear, where there are a number of cottage bedrooms. We did not see inside them nor stay in them and in consequence the standard may be higher than the main hotel. There is a rather stark dining room which operates as a restaurant during the day and in the evenings, and serves brasserie type food which is of a good standard. On the minus side, the hotel in terms of its decoration both in the rooms and the common areas, is of a low standard. There cannot be any comprehensive cleaning regime as cobwebs and dust seem to be the main feature. However, this clearly is not the fault of the staff, because the general state of the building does not encourage comprehensive cleaning. I stayed in one of the larger rooms which was well lit and with a good work surface area. There had been an attempt to improve the room with the decoration on a wall using modern wallpaper, but unfortunately this was the end of the attempted improvement. For example, the window casements were in an appalling state and somewhat rotten. The company owning this hotel really must invest money improving it overall rather than tinkering at the edges. The standard of furniture is very uninspired and like other guests I would describe the hotel and the rooms as shabby and tired. My room and the bathroom were large by any UK standards. However in common with the room, the bathroom had a newish slate floor but in every other respect looked at least 30 years old. The shower did not perform well and the wood surrounding the bath had deteriorated to such an extent that someone had carefully gathered together the pieces of wood that had fallen off and left them a little pile perhaps for potential future replacement, but it looked very odd. Once I had settled into my room for the three days of work ahead I had no desire to move from the room and carry out a complete decamping exercise even though I received virtually no sleep. One other member of our team staying in the hotel, did change their room immediately on arrival because one of the window casements was broken and the room was extremely cold. Again, the staff were very happy to change the room and it is difficult to find any criticism of the manager or the staff Unfortunately, there is a Victorian clock tower immediately outside the hotel and if you sleep at the front or side of the building, you are very unlikely to receive any sleep. I note that other travellers have commented on this. It seems incredible that the clock chimes every 15 mins and in the dead of night sleep is virtually impossible. Of course, this is not the fault of the hotel but it is another aggravating factor. The hotel apparently has four stars from the Welsh Tourist Board and I do not know their grading system, but this is not four-star accommodation as one might generally envisage. All in all, I would say that for the pricing structure, you should expect very basic budget accommodation which may serve the purpose of a simple overnight stay. I note that the hotel website describes itself as being boutique accommodation. I could not give this attribution under any circumstances. The mere fact that it is budget accommodation should not excuse the rather low standard of accommodation. Budget accommodation is offered throughout the UK and to a good standard. I have given two stars but only for the hotel staff who are very charming and are frankly trying to make bricks out of straw. I would not recommend this hotel. I am conscious that Anglesey relies heavily on tourism. I would not recommend this hotel to any overseas visitor. It would be a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here through work back in October of this year. The food in the restaurant is good quality and very reasonably priced.
My room was generally clean but very dated and tired looking. Did not even have a remote for the TV as apparently, it had been stolen!
My only other complaint would be regarding noise. The local lads seem to have a bit of a thing for finding the noisiest exhaust pipe possible for their cars and racing around the town.
It was ok for one night but only just ok. The food was the redeeming feature (although staff were very friendly to be fare).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

court yard rooms are lovely, large and airy, been told by others in the hotel that the main hotel rooms are noisy due to being on the main road, the resturant food is not nice !! i cook better food at home, so disapointed ,as not much of a choice to eat elsewhere in the village. breakfast is ok but have had better.. on a good note the staff are very friendly and helpful, i only stay here as part of work ( its close to a place i have to visit once a mth).....................
would be disapointed if i stayed as part of a holiday break, but only due to the food.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms............quite, easy to park outside of, no lugging bags up stairs, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KELLYBUZZWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had an excellent meal here. We chose the bull last minute and to be honest didn't know what to expect..The food was beautiful..mixed grill and proper chips, steak in ale pie and chips and little girl had sausage egg and chips. I would not hesitate to eat here again and will definately be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed for one night for a family wedding in the area. Booked the hotel online off their website after comparison on a late deal price. Both prices the same. The rooms were clean, we were welcomed by ALL the staff and advised without prompting on arrangements for a taxi. The bar had a good atmosphere on the Saturday night. We mentioned in passing that we were going to the wedding and a front door key was produced for us straight away along with a complimentary review of the wedding hotel. Breakfast was huge and plentiful. Staff were again friendly and helpful upon checkout. Highly reccomended and all for less than £60.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monwysyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was the second time we'd stayed here and had the corner room in the courtyard (19). Enormous room with kitchen and bathroom.

The staff here are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Large breakfast included in room rate.

The only minus was noise from drunks quite late but the Hotel is on the main one way system so it can't be helped.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggiema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
3.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
11.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
107 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
378 reviews
7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Bulkley Square, Llangefni LL77 7LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llangefni
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the most central hotels in North Wales. Ideal for exploring the coasts of the Isle of Anglesey. Only 20 minutes from the ferry terminal to Ireland. 20 rooms to a 4 star coaching inn standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wales/Llangefni, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing