We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, comfortable, convenient cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
Stick Cottage in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stick Cottage in summer
Stick Cottage and chickens Living room with view through to kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Stick Cottage in summer
Stick Cottage and chickens
Living room with view through to kitchen
Kitchen
Dining area
Dining area with view into sitting room
Front door
Living room
Living room and stove
Bedroom
Twin Bed layout
Superking Bed layout
Shower room
Panoramic view of Sitting Room
Panoramic view of Kitchen-Diner
Panoramic view of Bedroom
Stick Cottage garden
Stick Cottage pick-up service
Walking at Aberffraw
Newborough beach
Beaches and kayaks, Anglesey
Plas Newydd from the Menai Straits
South Stack Lighthouse, Holyhead
Sea-kayaking on Anglesey
Menai Suspension Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dwyran, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Don D
1 review
“Excellent, comfortable, convenient cottage.”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A very comfortable, clean, well located cottage in the grounds of very helpful owners. Stick Cottage makes an excellent base for exploring Anglesey. Look forward to staying again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Dear Don, Thanks for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stick Cottage very soon!
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flothree
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Stick Cottage for 3 nights in late June. Unfortunately we did not get to meet Catherine and Paul (or their chickens, much to my disappointment!) as they were away but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The booking process was very easy and Catherine responded to all my queries in a friendly, prompt manner.

Upon arrival at the cottage, my first impression was that the cottage is a lot bigger than it appears on the website - it's truly a wonderful space for 2 people. The cottage was spotless, airy, comfortable and had all the cooking utensils you could wish for. The garden is a treat too - private, well maintained and there are birds galore (it's also a bit of a sun trap if the weather obliges!). The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful.

Stick Cottage is an ideal base from which to explore Anglesey. It's off the beaten track so you feel like you're living in solitary splendour, and yet it's close to places such as Newborough Beach (AMAZING place), Newborough forest (red squirrels galore) and Menai Bridge, whilst South Stacks and the delights of Snowdonia are a relatively short - and very scenic - drive away. There are restaurants galore - we went to Marram Grass for dinner one evening, which is very close to the cottage, and would highly recommend it.

We had a truly lovely stay at Stick Cottage and I am sorry that we could not stay longer. We hope to visit again, and this time meet Catherine!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit in spite of our absence! We look forward to meeting you next time you stay at Stick Cottage.
Regards
Catherine Griffiths
Stick Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at Stick Cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I returned from my 3rd stay at Stick Cottage and once again had an excelent time. It is a small cosy comfortable cottage set in pretty gardens with easy access to Newborough Forest, the South West coast of the island and the Menai Straits. Bikes and watersports kit are welcome and the owners Catherine and Paul, who live in the adjacen property are extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and easy access to the South West beaches.
Liked least: Coming home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Wes, Thanks so much for telling us how much you enjoyed your return visit to Stick Cottage (we think it could actually be your 4th visit!). We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter's family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderfully peaceful and tranquil cottage - highly recommended”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our sincere thanks to Catherine and Paul for making sure everything was perfect for our stay in Anglesey. The initial booking through Trip Advisor was simple and smooth, very good value, and Catherine provided plenty of prompt and helpful advice vial email to ensure we were prepared. Once we arrived there was fresh flowers and essentials provided, as well as a thoroughly comprehensive and detailed info pack - very impressed.

The cottage is lovely - especially suitable for a couple, with nice thick walls and quality materials meaning we were completely undisturbed. The huge superking bed and pillows were super comfy, and the garden is spacious and peaceful with Paul and Catherine very much respecting our privacy. The atmosphere all round was wonderful, and a lovely escape from the hustle of city life. It was a slight shame the chickens were on a sabbatical with the neighbours, but even so Catherine brought us some of the famous eggs on request, and we enjoyed them thoroughly.

Be prepared to drive a little further afield to go shopping for food as there is very little nearby - but Hooton's farm shop is a short drive away and is highly recommended, with lovely jam, bread, meat and sausages amongst others.

We very much look forward to returning in the future to Stick Cottage - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: weak power shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. I particularly liked the description of the chickens being on sabbatical! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Catherine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay on Anglesey in Stick Cottage. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best wishes, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
warrington
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we're glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liergues
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to Stick Cottage next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing