We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A good place for stopping off on-route. We were upgraded from a double standard room to a 4 poster bedroom with a seaview. The owners, Pat and Paul, are very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner in the bar/ restaurant which was very good. The hotel grounds are fairly large with guinea fowl roaming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jos1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is only a 2 star and yet provides an elegant and original venue, especially on the inside.
The room was delightful, the restaurant to a good standard, the grounds and views lovely and the attentions of Pat and Paul welcoming and genuine.
Perhaps most importantly the bar is large and well stocked, the open fire warming (yes, in June) and the cooked breakfast filling.
Just the place to explore Anglesey!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just come back from a motorcycle weekend staying at the Gadlys. The ride to the hotel had taken 9 hours. Mainly in the rain, and with various riders losing the rest of the group. It was a long day, but we finally arrived. This is our second visit to the Gadlys, and once again we warmly greeted at reception by Pat. She quickly checked us in, and promptly made her way to the bar, to serve the weary bikers a well earned drink (what a woman).

We have been doing these motorcycle trips for many years. We always look for a hotel with great views. We want good food, quickly served. We want a bar with plenty of choice,. but above all it must be clean and tidy. The Gadlys ticks all the boxes.

Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadlys670, Owner at Gwesty Gadlys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

You are very welcome. Thank you for the kind words. Hope to see you again in a couple of years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a surprising place, very interestingly decorated, good food, genial hosts, nothing is too much trouble for Paul and his wife. Most of all though, what a stunning setting very large grounds, away from traffic where kids can roam safely, with interesting wildflowers, rabbits, guinea fowl, etc. A true country house hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6, a family room, 1 double bed 1 single but room large enough for a cot too. Exelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladimirWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Hotel was a very clean hotel, The food was VERY GOOD, the rooms where a Hit or Miss (good or bad) depending on which room you had, I saw most rooms because our party took over the whole Hotel, my room was great but my friends was not good but clean !! There is no Lift so it was difficult for some. Paul was very charming man ( dry sense of humour ) But you new who the BOSS was (His wife Pat)!! She was pleasant of & on ?!!? I would certainly go there again if I get the right choice of room.

Room Tip: Four poster rooms, and family rooms very good, others Lucky dip !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent an enjoyable 2 night break at the Gadlys. We stayed in room 3 which had a four poster bed. Charming room, tastefully decorated and very clean. Lovely views from the large window looking out over the gardens. TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities were provided in the room. There is ample parking and the Gadlys is very easy to find.

We received a warm welcome when we arrived and the proprietors were very attentive throughout our stay.

On the second night we had a lovely meal in the restuarant and even though Cheese & Biscuits weren't on the menu, this didn't pose a problem and the other half got a selection of cheese, grapes, biscuits and the glass of port he wanted.

The full English Breakfast was cooked to perfection and breakfast was served between 7.30am - 9am.

If you like a hotel, which is steeped in history and feels like your stepping back in time, then this is a good place to come. We enjoyed it and would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a Four Poster bed and a Nice View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

At this time of year I organise a group of around about twelve couples and we go away for a three day golfing and hiking holiday to different places within a radius of no more than one and a half hours drive from Chester, England. This year we went to Anglesey and the Gadly Hotel on Angelsey.
The size of our party meant we were the only guests as we took all their rooms. For some hotels of this size this can be a real challenge with so many people arriving at the same place at the same time. Patricia though, the co owner with her husband Phil, coped with this potential problem with great method and precision.
The choice of dinner menu offered was varied (choice of 3 starters, mains and deserts) but was all of good quality served at the same time and hot (if it was a hot dish!!).
The rooms were clean and comfortable though the central heating could have been more efficient, however booster fan heaters were available in the rooms. The lounge and the bar offered comfortable places to relax and if you have a pianist in your party, as we do, you can have a lively time round the piano in the evenings and bar prices are very reasonable.
Where Patricia and Phil the owners also scored for us was in there understanding of our position and needs as the weather turned ugly on the Friday (March 22nd 2013). They were particularly good with two couples in our party who had booked to stay an extra night and in view of the extreme weather difficulties decided to cancel. There was no issue and no question of a charge , cancellation fee or anything just complete understanding. Not something you would get from every hotel owner.
If you are going to this part of Angelsey as individuals Gadlys is a good option for a few days. If you have a party the size of ours they seem to know how to cope. Without exception we all enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
3.5 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woburn Hill Hotel
Woburn Hill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
263 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
12 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Gadlys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Gadlys Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 0LH, Wales (Formerly Gadlys Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gwesty Gadlys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gadlys Hotel is currently closed whilst we implement an exciting major renovation project. We will be re-opening in the summer of 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gwesty Gadlys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadlys Country Hotel
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel Cemaes Bay, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing