We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break at the Gadlys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We decided to go away for New Year and after looking at numerous hotel offers, we opted for the Gadlys because it was sensiblly priced and we'd also stayed 6 years ago during a very hot summer. We arrived the day before New Years Eve on a cold wet windy day and were given a warm welcome by Pat. We had Room 3 which is the lovely four poster room and looks out on the nice front garden and has a sea view to the right. To ensure we were extra snug on such a cold weekend, Pat advised she had put a heater in the room alongside the heating being on and also put flannelette sheets on the bed so we'd be nice and cosy. After unpacking we went down for a late lunch and even though the Chef had left as lunch was just over, nothing was too much trouble for Pat and she kindly made us soup and sandwiches. In the evening we ate in the hotel bar after remembering the food was so good last time we stayed and again, we weren't dissapointed. The Lamb Shank and home made Steak & Kidney Pie were hearty and delicious and the home made Bakewell Tart is to die for. The cooked breakfast next morning was good and you can choose your options if you can't manage the full works. We were surprised to find we were the only guests staying in the hotel for the New Year Deal however on New Years Eve, the locals and Pat & Paul's friends arrived so there was a good gang of us and a great night was had by all. We were made to feel very welcome both by our hosts and their visitors and the buffet and hagis at midnight were delicious. The evening was rounded off by fireworks and a raffle, which ensured every couple got a prize and after a quiz and everyone then playing card games we eventually got to bed at 2.00am. As last time, we found our break very relaxing and thank Pat and Paul for looking after us as we will definitely stay again because we love the Gadlys old style country house charm. We've had no complaints on either of our stays but if we were to raise any points, it would be just 2 minor things in that a heated towel rail or small radiator in the bathroom would be a good idea particularly in winter and the mattress on the bed could maybe do with replacing sometime this year as even though it's comfy, it felt very soft and worn and was quite low. However, these are only minor things and would certainly not stop us from staying in that room again.

Camaes Bay as a whole is great little get away from it all place for a weekend as it's not too touristy and there a couple of nice walks from the hotel, which take you into the village and on to the beach. There is another hotel in the village called The Harbour which also do good meals as well as a traditional little pub, which has an upstairs porch filled with hanging baskets in the summer and makes a lovely place to sit and enjoy a drink whilst looking over the bay. Benlech Bay is also close by car and has a nice cliff-top walk which leads you to a pub meaning you can stop for lunch then walk back along the beach and Molferi is a lovely little place to visit and again has a nice village pub and a walk which takes you to the cliffs alongside the life-boat station.

Room Tip: Rooms at teh front have a nice view of the gardens and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireBear01Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 137 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Gadlys yesterday evening it was the first time we had been to a Greek Evening and would throughly recommend it. The food was excellent wonderfully cooked and presented and excellent value for money. Our hosts Pat and Paul really went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful evening looking forward to the next visit already.
Carole and Roy Kearey

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadlys670, Owner at Gwesty Gadlys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Very glad you enjoyed it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently had the opportunity to say at the Gadlys House In Cemaes Bay, North Wales. It was a wonderful experience. Our room was at the front of the Hotel and we had views of the Bay and the village. Our hosts, Patricia and Paul, were most gracious. Paul was the chef during the week we were there and did an outstanding job. The lamb shank and garlic bread were one of the best meals we had during our visit to Wales. The location lends itself to some beautiful walks. It's a convenient starting point for walks along the Coastal Foot Path (awesome views of the Irish Sea) as well as down to the bay itself. We truly enjoyed our visit and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little dated but that's to be expected from a hotel that's over 100 years ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meesah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for a night away in august 2012, the gadlys is in a really nice spot just a short walk into the village/town via a little seafront path. We found the host really friendly and helpful, however the rooms are a wee bit dated but clean ,but good value for money especially with the 4 poster bed.Breakfast was a bit hap hazard and pretty average to be fair, i got the impression that the gadlys is maybe getting by on skeleton staff like friends and family of the hosts maybe ?.These are just minor moans really but the biggest was the smell from the kitchen after 6 in the evening which seemed to overpower our room,it bothered the mrs more than me though !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My friends and I stopped here for Sunday lunch - thankfully we did not actually stay! Some may feel it unfair to review a hotel based only on a lunch stop but it was such a bizarre and horrendous experience I felt compelled to review it! I don't even know where to start... particular low points were the garlic bread which arrived charred and still smouldering and the totally odd sand like substance on the cauliflower. Basically the food was all horrendous and at £18.50 for 3 courses not exactly cheap (we didn't eat 3 courses so were only charged £15.50). The surly woman who dealt with us, presumably one of the owners from the other reviews, made us feel like naughty school children for not finishing our food, but then weirdly, after we had asked for the bill and were itching to escape from the place, started showering us with leaflets and odd suggestions of touristy things to do. It was the weirdest place I have ever had the misfortune of dining in! I shudder at the thought of what staying there must be like, I advise avoiding at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
14  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Gadlys Country House Hotel is a lovely place to stay, even in mid-November. We came back from a wedding to a real wood fire. Caring, attentive, welcoming hosts. Delightful coastal footpath walk nearby.
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireCat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

In June of this year I stayed at the Gadlys Country House Hotel. My time there was so enjoyable that I have returned several times since - the hotel is very comfortable, ideally situated and the evening meals are delicious. Patricia and Paul, the owners, always give me a warm welcome and I am looking forward to my next visit in December. In my opinion, the Gadlys offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
3.5 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woburn Hill Hotel
Woburn Hill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
261 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
17.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Gadlys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Gadlys Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 0LH, Wales (Formerly Gadlys Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range: $113 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gwesty Gadlys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gadlys Hotel is currently closed whilst we implement an exciting major renovation project. We will be re-opening in the summer of 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Gwesty Gadlys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadlys Country Hotel
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel Cemaes Bay, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing