We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our 1st visit to this hotel and would definately visit again, had a nice room with a balcony with lovely views to the harbour, the hotel is dog friendly and our dog was made welcome in most areas of the hotel, very friendly staff, a great choice of food on the menu, our meal was very enjoyable, very well cooked, and had a great well cooked breakfast ...lovely location...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 252 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

It's not very often myself and my wife are able to spend quality time together, but on Saturday May 10th I looked on the web and found Harbour hotel. The price was appealing and the web site was amazing. I booked via Booking. com and then we set of on a three hour journey from West Yorkshire. On arrival, my first impression was a run down hotel, lacking in paint and quite shabby. My wife commented that the hotel looked like a stop over for builders and tradesmen. How ironic then that as we approached, a group of men in muddy boots and day glow jackets should also arrive. Check in was by means of a bell system by the side of reception. This clearly did not work, so after 20 mins we approached the bar area and a young man gave us keys to room No 15. We entered the room and that's when the shock really set in. the window was surrounded in mold, carpet badly stained, light shades coated in dust and grime, handles on furniture broken off. dents and holes in walls, walls painted at some stage but over painted on to ceiling, shower/ toilet was frighteningly filthy with a pungent smell of stale urine, tile grout was extremely moldy. After a long deliberation we decided to stay and chose to wash in the sink that was in the main room. The so called en-suite had no window and no extractor fan. I had booked a table in the bistro (Cafeteria) for an evening meal and i was looking forward to their Harbour burger meal because everything on the menu is stated that it is not fast food and that it may take a little longer to cook. well i am sure you will all agree that 45 mins for a burger and frozen chips is a bit extreme. My wife ordered of the menu the chefs special curry and asked the waitress what sort of curry was it. she replied "i'll go and ask" but she only returned when the food was ready. To the horror of my wife it was king prawn. the waitress asked if every thing was ok and we informed her that no not really and we explained about the prawns. she said sorry but then walked off without offering my wife another choice. After a discussion, we decided not to complain due to the simple fact that if any complaint was to become heated in anyway then we may have to leave the premises and that was not possible because i had drank three pints of beer and my wife does not drive. We went up to our room and listened to the fan noise outside of our window for a couple of hours until we fell asleep. After been woken at 7am by creaky floor board and constant door banging, I went down for breakfast while my wife was getting ready. The breakfast was not too bad and I should only complain about bad experiences so i would give it 7 out of 10 but my wife chose to have a Mars Bar for breakfast from a local shop due to the shenanigans of the previous evening. All in all a very shocking experience that I will be taking up with the owners. After all. they can't throw us out now. Beware!!! don't be fooled by their website like Iwas

Room Tip: Do Your home work before booking any hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RAVJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked the hotel 11 weeks in advance paid £62.50 on arrival given a room at the back of the hotel with no views which was next to the kitchen extractor fan which ran all night, when I asked the gentleman on reception what time it would be turned off his reply whilst eating a biscuit was, when we are finished. There were three drums marked hazardous outside our window.
creaky floorboards, very shabby unclean décor.
At breakfast there was a dog lying under the table (although there we signs stating no dogs past the dining point) breakfast cereals were out of date, and the cooked breakfast was poor quality
our advise is avoid if possible

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at The Harbour for 3 nights, our 4th visit. This is a dog friendly hotel, the décor is looking a little tired but it is clean, the staff are friendly, there is a wide choice on the menu and the food is excellent. It is located on the coastal footpath and is a great base for exploring the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front which have balconies overlooking the harbour.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curlew29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stopped at the Harbour Hotel again , staff very friendly and helpfull even when i didnt book-in till 8-30pm, food was very good , rooms very clean , breakfast was brill, and hotels in a lovely spot right on the harbour and beach .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bug700es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a meal at the Harbour - our last meal of a brilliant week at Cemaes Bay. The food was OK although not all our order was delivered. Given the rudeness of the staff when we ordered (in particular, an older man behind the bar) we didn't dare ask for the order to be put right. We spent nearly £100 between us and would have stayed for a few more drinks but decided to leave as soon as we finished. There are much better reviews on this site - I can only assume other staff were on duty that day. If you are in the area, try the chip shop or the Stag - much better!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbysGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed with my mum whilst visiting family in Cemaes bay. Room was very cosy, clean and warm. Bed very noisy everytime I turned but that was my only complaint on the room really. Staff friendly and evening meal, although pricey was very nice. Breakfast was delicious too. The only problems I found personnally was the dull continious noise of music from the bar below. Also again waking us up just after 7am with the same dull thud. Next doors barking dog wasn't appreciated either. I do like a lie in whilst on holiday so would not stay again only due to the comments I made.

Room Tip: Brill if you have a dog
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutiepie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
3.4 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
327 reviews
11.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
648 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,021 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
741 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 ONN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Cemaes Bay, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing