We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Super food, brilliant service from bar staff & restaurant staff. Nothing is a problem. Very very dog friendly. It is not expensive. Lovely atmosphere in the lounge bar. Very good value for money. Love it. Will return. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 264 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

stayed there for 2 nights and after the first i was ready to come home . watch out friday night is kareoke night, followed by a bit of dubstep and ragga jungle which is cool unless u can hear it all.
fire alarms going off , walls to ajoining rooms not insulated , serios sound problems i dont enjoy my daughter being woken up everytime next door goes for a wee because the empty studded wall is the only thing between next doors loo and the kids bed ... nice... dated shabby woodchip on the walls stained grey ceilings im a decorator and can see my room hadnt seen and paint in a decade at least . creaky creaky creaky creaky the hole place creaks and you can hear every one.
saying all this the staff are nice the foods not bad and its a great spot, just really disappointed on my family room as with most familys with small kids have to spend a good few hours in there.
it was dingy needs some money invested in those rooms

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwcamperman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What you get here is a hotel in a great location with friendly staff and good service. Ok, the decor is a bit dated but, in my opinion, it delivers great value. Food in the bistro is good and breakfast is prepared to order.

Room Tip: Aim for a harbour view. Some people have noted the noise from the public bar which is situated at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobcat901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We found the room adequate for our needs, it was clean and the beds were made daily.
We ate in the Bistro and found the food exceptional both for the evening meal and breakfast,and the Staff were very friendly and helpful.
But oh dear! the Music in the evenings from the public bar was intrusive and lasted until midnight and then noisy people leaving.
We unfortunately had a room above the bar which is ok if you are in the bar or out!.
We feel that it should be mentioned on the web site that the rooms above the bar could be noisy.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room over the bar unless you like Music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Was visiting family and needed a place to work on my laptop for a couple of hours. So I popped down to the Harbour Hotel to see if the lounge was open to anyone and if the Internet access was available. I am pleased to say they were very welcoming pointed me to a table with a view overlooking the bay with plug and complimentary wifi access! Every time I ordered a coffee it was brought over to me without delay. I will most definantly be back laptop in hand.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed twice so far in this very friendly Hotel. The staff were both time professional and friendly.
Our room was facing the harbour and it was clean and well presented.The bed was big and particularly comfortable.
All members of staff are extremely pleasant and can not do enough to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.
The restaurant and bar are clean, offer superb choice and above all are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was brilliant - plenty of it and great quality.
I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and business associates alike.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We hadn't found many nice looking places to stay on Anglesey but this was recommended by friends. The bar/ 'bistro' area looked nice enough though we didn't eat there. It was also very close to the sea front and our room had a lovely view out to sea.

However, when we arrived, the rooms looked like there were many original 1970s features, such as an ancient bathroom suite (carpet up the side of the bath!), doors that didn't really fit, floorboards that were broken so sunk when you stood on them, ancient uncomfortable beds and the piece de resistance - weeds growing under the patio door (to the balcony) into the room.

The housekeeping was poor, the room didn't seem to have been vacuumed before we arrived, we were in the room when the housekeeping came, she asked us if we needed anything - which she brought quickly - but then never bothered to come back to empty bins, make the beds or do any cleaning. At £72.50 a night, we expect far, far more.

This would all be just about tolerable but when the sun goes down the real problems start! Despite a note in the hotel guide stating that noise must be kept to a minimum after 12, really loud music was pumping out of the bar until the early hours. Our room was above the bar, and it was so loud we could feel the vibrations coming up through the floor! This was complemented by the customers - many of whom looked like locals rather than one-off visitors - stood outside shouting at the top of their voices, picking fights, crying, arguing... In a residential area I can't understand why the management doesn't try to be more neighbourly.

The hotel is so poorly sound insulated we could hear everybody wandering around, doors slamming at all hours, waking us up all through the night. Possibly the worst night's sleep we've ever had!!

On our second night we got back at midnight, with all the music and shouting again - we couldn't face staying there and made the four hour drive home instead. The management were completely understanding and only charged us one night, seemingly completely aware of the problem and without any defence.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 82Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
11.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
680 reviews
3.4 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
340 reviews
10.6 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
141 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
776 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 ONN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range: $79 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Cemaes Bay, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing