We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Style Pub”
Review of The Stag Inn

The Stag Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Cemaes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
North Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Style Pub”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First time visiting this charming pub and am sure we will be going back again when we are in the area. There was quite a range to choose from on the menu board, infact one of our party commented that there was too much choice and she couldnt make her mind up what to have. She eventually decided,along with another of our party,on the chicken pie & chips.It looked,and as my two friends stated,tasted deliciouse,with a large fluffy crust on top of a dish filled with big pieces of chicken. Another friend had the asparagus risotto that came with so much salad she couldn't finish it,although the risotto dish was emptied. One of the men had gamon egg & chips which he said the gamon was.on the salty side,but that is often the case with gamon. My husband settled on the beer battered hadock chips and peas,the comment there was "lovely light batter on a tasty piece of fish with nice fat chips". As for myself I chose the cheese & broccoll bake,it was advertised with salad but I fancied chips instead,other places I have been would still serve the salad and charge extra for the chips but at the Stag they were substituted which I thought was very good. All in all six of us had a very good lunch served by a polite young man who we told would be seeing us again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    85
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit when in Cemaes”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Love this place when staying in Cemaes. Eaten on a few occasions and cant fault it. Next visit to the village will see us here again!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real pub with great pub food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a good, real pub,
not a plastic palace and long may
they prosper.
Good beer and quality, home made pub food at a reasonable price.
Little too fault here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitsontribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A traditional friendly pub by the harbour. Very good pub food with a fair selection. The service was good. We ate there in the evening and sat in the bar area. There were others eating there and everyone we spoke to thought the food excellent. We had a very enjoyable evening there and would certainly visit again if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional pub with traditional pub meals.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The Stag Inn is a traditional pub with a large and varied menu including those you would expect from a traditional pub. The bonus here is that they are all homemade and of generous portions. The prices are in line with expectations but as said before the offerings are generous. The children's menu is limited and offers the usual but there are lots of sandwiches/baked potatoes etc to compliment.
The service is friendly and efficient and food was piping hot and well presented.
The pubs rooms are small so it can feel quite cramped , especially if it is holiday season but the locals are friendly so there's no problem in settling amongst them.
Love popping here for a family meal when we are all together.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KKKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stag Inn also viewed

Cemaes Bay, Anglesey
 

Been to The Stag Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing