We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great appartment, great service, great holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 'The Hideaway'

LOUNGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOUNGE
LOUNGE AND DINING AREA KITCHEN AREA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
LOUNGE
LOUNGE AND DINING AREA
KITCHEN AREA
KITCHEN
DINING FROM KITCHEN
ENTRANCE TO BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BATHROOM
BATHROOM
BATHROOM
UNDERCOVER PATIO AREA
DECORATIONS
PATIO AND FLAT ENTRANCE
PATIO
On-shore wind Benllech - New Years day 2012
Winter 2011 Benllech
Caernarfon Castle
Plas Newydd
Beaumaris Castle
Penmon Point nr Beaumaris
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Benllech, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jodielu80
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great appartment, great service, great holiday!”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This review is long overdue and well deserved! My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Hideaway in August when our daughter was 18 months old.

The apartment is beautifully decorated with everything you could need for a stay, including an amazing picnic set which became our mainstay for the trip! There was also; windbreaks, a bbq, a slide for our daughter and an bucket and spade!! Other notable features were; - excellent high pressure show and good sized bath. Excellent internet connection; travelling with a toddler we were back home for 7pm most evenings and were able to use our Amazon fire TV stick to stream from netflix etc, unlike most holiday apartments that advertise internet connection we got a dedicated connection with a solid 40-30mbps and were able to watch HDTV every evening on an excellent 32" HDTV. The sofa is also a double recliner (electric) which made relaxing with a glass of wine perfect. For those travelling with small children there are also no steps in the apartment meaning no travelling with stair gates or watching like a hawk!!

The location of the apartment is amazing. It is on the beach road and approximately 200m walk to the beach. This really removes the stress of getting to the beach with a toddler as a forgotten nappy/changing back/cream/change of clothes is fetched in 5 mins! There are various mini supermarkets and stores within a walking distance and an Asda and Waitrose within a 15 min drive. Benllech is a great position for exploring the Island and Snowdonia by car and is on the costal path (it's literally round the corner!). It is around a 20 minute drive to Bangor, and about 35 to Caernarfon and LLanberis.

Robert and family could not be more friendly and accommodating, particularly to our daughter. As well as plenty of great tips about places to take our daughter to (all of which she loved) we had our washing done, help with my car that suffered a fairly serious mechanically issue on the journey and pretty much anything else that we could have asked for!
I would fully recommend the Hideaway to anyone planning a break with a toddler, or as a couple in this part of the world and hope that the three of us will be able to visit again n 2017.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 Minute walk to the beach
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thank you so much for your superb review. I'm so glad I could have helped with the car - I hope you have got everything sorted now !
As you have found out - we are 'family' people. We adore children and we will always do everything we can to make a holiday an enjoyable and memorable experience.
We really look forward to seeing you again. Kindest regards from the Clayton family (and Bailey!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyUK195...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully furnished, cosy, comfy and very well equipped!”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Visiting Benllech to relive childhood memories from 40 / 50 years ago and to make new discoveries too, we have just returned from a week at The Hideaway and were so pleased with this property. Amazingly close to the beach and a great base for exploring the Island and North west Wales. The décor is amazing and fits the seaside location perfectly and makes the Hideaway feel so inviting. Very well equipped kitchen area, plenty of towels in the bathroom which has an excellent shower. The bedroom is equally tastefully decorated - I stay in a lot of hotels and this was the most comfortable bed away from home I have ever known! The little extras provided like umbrellas, picnic basket and windbreak add a nice touch, the seating area is perfect for relaxing in the evening with a glass of wine, so quiet and peaceful, and I loved the huge clock there too!
Overall I would very strongly recommend the Hideaway to any couple.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tastefully decorated and so peaceful
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
Thank you so much. I hope that you will stay with us again.
Kind regards. Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had an excellent stay at The Hideaway. It is furnished to a very high standard and spotlessly clean with lots of little extras. The use of a picnic rucksack, flask, windbreak and umbrellas were a bonus The kitchen was very well equipped and the bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels. Robert, the owner was very friendly and welcoming giving us lots of good advice and recommendations. The Hideaway was a minutes walk from Benllech beach and a good base for exploring Anglesey with a number of shops and eating places within walking distance. We would highly recommend a stay here and we hope to return next year, if not before!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property and location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thank you very much Debby for your very kind review.
We are lucky that everyone who stays with us leaves the property spotless - but you left The Hideaway as if you hadn't been there!!
Never have we seen our home in such good condition. Thank you so much for visiting us and please let us know if you want a quick weekend away out of season as we will always help you out. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both. Regards
Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth I
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent location”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for a week. The location is excellent - just a short walk to the beach and coastal walks. The apartment looked new and was decorated to a high standard. The facilities in the apartment were excellent with a very comfortable large bed. The owner was very helpful telling us of the best places to eat and visit.The island attractions are in easy reach from the property

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. It was a Pleasure meeting you both and I hope we will meet again soon. We are very lucky in having some of the most fabulous people stopping with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig j
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So hidden we couldnt find it!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We could not find 'THE HIDEAWAY' so we went somewhere we could find! Please provide more directions rather than a postal code that leads to nowhere!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
What a load of rubbish !!
Perhaps you could spend a little more time using your individual brain cell on something more constructive - such as deep sea diving without an oxygen tank?
I have more important things to do than read this dribble, obviously you, being of limited grey matter - do not
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoJaneAus...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Base for Family Holiday”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here with our 6 month old daughter for our first family holiday. The apartment is well equipped, comfortable and tastefully decorated, and there was plenty of room for the three of us. The bedroom had a big comfortable bed and there was enough space for our travel cot.

We had good weather so we could make good use of the beach being an easy two minute walk away. It's also easy to get out to other attractions on Anglesey and in North West Wales.

Thanks to Robert for being a very welcoming host. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review, and we too look forward to seeing you all again. Kind regards
Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boykeff
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from spending a very enjoyable week at the Hideaway in Benllech. The interior has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The owner Mr Clayton was extremely helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The house is very close to the beach, which is a very wide expanse of sand at low tide. The village has a Tesco , a Co Op and a Spar supermarket. There is a very good fish and chip shop in the village. For a couple this is an ideal holiday rental.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you so much David. It was a pleasure to meet you both. We are so lucky to have such lovely people staying with us and I sincerely hope we can meet again. Take care. Robert & Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing