We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curate's egg, but a tasty one”

Bishopsgate Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $47
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A curate's egg, but a tasty one”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

At the time of writing this restaurant is #1 in Beaumaris, and deservedly so. One or two oddities though. The food, for example, is fine, and carefully prepared but for our main course - fillet steak in a port and Stilton sauce (tender and delicious) - it came with an elegant stack of chips (again, very nice) but also with a side serving of roasted new potatoes. Me, I like spuds, but it did seem odd to have them served 'two ways'. For all that, though, the starters were excellent and the desserts more than adequate. A little on the expensive side and, as others have remarked, a little on the dated side too. Decor very classy in parts but let down a touch by fake books in the bookcase (like a furniture shop) and other
artificial 'period' fittings in the dining room. All in all, though, a highly entertaining evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    61
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was early Saturday evening and we had no booking for dinner but having read some very positive reviews about this restaurant we decided to try our luck. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very polite friendly and helpful and the food was all delicious. The loin of lamb needs particular mention for its tenderness. This is the best meal I can remember having eaten in a restaurant in Anglesey for years.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnZ816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and customer service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Having had great food here last year we booked again. We arrived fifty minutes late (our fault) to find that they had no record of our booking and the kitchen about to close for the night.
There was no attempt to query our booking and the chef went back into the kitchen and produced four faultless meals-my lamb was the simply the best I have eaten anywhere.
I can think of a lot of restaurants that would have turned us away for being late or would have denied that we had ever made a booking but the people here made us very welcome and served up memorable food to four tired golfers.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fujiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Although we weren't staying at the hotel the restaurant had received good reviews and we dined there on Saturday evening.
I have to day it didn't disappoint. The ante-rooms and the restaurant itself are all very pleasant, the service on the night was friendly & efficient despite the presence of a large party in the restaurant and the food was excellent.
All in all we had a very enjoyable evening at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Amazon Deal!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

In need of recharging our batteries, we decided on a few days in North Wales; not far to travel and knew it would be quiet. Booked this deal through Amazon, knowing Beaumaris as a quaint and quiet seaside town. Underwhelmed by the hotel's 2 star rating on arrival (it was booked in a hurry), but asking ourselves what did we expect for our money! was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a large comfortable room, and to then enjoy "served" meals by discreet, friendly staff - lovely breakfasts and two very good evening meals. A completely unexpected bargain! Thanks to Hazel and her lovely staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishopsgate Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bishopsgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing