We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet, off the grid”
other travelers have booked this property
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin Looking up at the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin
Looking up at the entrance
picnic area outside the cabin
View of the cabin
View from the veranda of the cabin
cupboard and shelves inside the cabin, all hand made
wood burner in the cabin
Cosy double bed
Inside the cabin
Dining area inside the cabin
Our first honeymoon couple
lit by candle light
Gas barbecue sheltered underneath the elevated cabin for rainy days
Eco toilet next to the cabin
Main cabin bathroom approx 100m walk through the woods from the cabin
Main cabin bathroom
Entrance to the woodland
woodland walk on our doorstep
red squirrel on the feeders
View across the Menai Strait from Friars bay just a few minutes drive from here
Penmon and puffin Island (10 mins drive from here)
View from White Beach (15mins drive from here)
Beautiful walk to Aber Falls (20mins drive from here)
view between the hills on the walk to Aber Falls
Bridge at Aber Falls
Llyn Crafnant, Trefriw
Menai Suspension Bridge, gate way to Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaumaris, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
JeanMcK
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet, off the grid”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This wooden cabin in the woods near Beaumaris is a perfect place to cut the electronic umbilical and just spend some time watching the skies change and the red squirrels squabble over the feeder. There are enough amenities to be comfortable - eco-loo, BBQ (gas and charcoal), LED torches, candles - but to feel that you are connected to nature instead of a computer. Of course, for those who can't exist without their phones, you can get a signal, but why would you want to?!? Nan and John are there to assist if needed, but you can enjoy all the peace and quiet that you want (aside from an occasional windy night). I recommend to anyone who wants to revive and enjoy what Anglesey has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding - nature at its best, including the squirrels
Liked least: Going to the loo in the night when it was rainy, but that is a minor concern!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
Thank you for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer, our eco log cabin. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. So many people tell us its the best nights sleep they can remember probably due to the peace and quiet (except for the occasional hooting owl)and the lack of light pollution and cosy relaxing atmosphere in the cabin. we would love to see you again sometime in the future, thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHELLE...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, and it was perfect.... You are in your own little world when you stay here. The log cabin built by John has been done so stunningly. We did just love staying there! Thank you both Nan and John for the warm welcome and the wonderful experience you have created.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Thank you so much for the review on Nyth Y Wiwer. we are delighted that you found our cabin cosy, warm and comfortable and that you enjoyed you stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope we will see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a lovely few days glamping! Kids loved it! The cabin is very clean, pretty and confortable. Great eco loo. Showering and cooking was all very easy. Scenery is beautiful and Beaumaris is a great place to visit. Nan, the owner could not be more lovely and helpful. Will definitely be visiting again.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review for Nyth Y Wiwer. we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our eco log cabin and found everything to your satisfaction. we would love to see you again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne E
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just arrived home after spending three nights here and could quite easily of stayed a lot longer. What a way to relax, the cabin is perfect and so peaceful. Make sure you leave the curtains open at all times to watch an astounding sunrise. Nan and John are so friendly and so helpful recommending wonderful places and we will definitely be returning. Jo & Paul x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Nyth y Wiwer and you found the cabin, cosy, private with everything you needed. We would love to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lealea83
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience ”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a 4 night stay here with my husband and 8 yr old son. The cabin itself is in a fabulous location and makes for a really adventurous break without going all out camping! Nan and John were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review at Nyth Y Wiwer. We are so glad that you enjoyed the experience in our eco log cabin and that you were comfortable and found everything you needed there. We would love to see you all again sometime in the future, you are always welcome here. Thanks again Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr and Mr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely unique!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful place to take young 13yr olds. They didn`t miss the TV or phones etc. Just reverted back to being kids and playing in the woods. They didn`t want to leave. Thanks to Nan and John for sharing this lovely place.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you so much for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels nest). We are delighted that you and the girls enjoyed your stay here, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we do hope we will see you again in the future. Thanks again, Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassgirl1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful hideout in the woodland”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved this place - it was beautifully located in lush woodland, well-equipped, and the owners were lovely, greeting us and taking all our bags up the track to the hut. Just a short walk (30 mins) to Beaumaris, through the fields and on small roads was perfect too. Nan was full of suggestions for great trips out to the wide array of nearby sights and places of historical interest, of which there are many. These are also all conveniently listed in the visitor's book in the hut. In the end we stayed close to home, as it was such a lovely location to just hang out, relax, read, play the guitar. Definitely would like to come back and have a winter experience at the Squirrels nest, with the cosy wood burning fire. All in all, a lovely holiday break. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review for Nyth Y Wiwer ( squirrels nest). We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to meeting you again in the future. Best wishes to you both and many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing