We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin Looking up at the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin
Looking up at the entrance
picnic area outside the cabin
View of the cabin
View from the veranda of the cabin
cupboard and shelves inside the cabin, all hand made
wood burner in the cabin
Cosy double bed
Inside the cabin
Dining area inside the cabin
Our first honeymoon couple
lit by candle light
Gas barbecue sheltered underneath the elevated cabin for rainy days
Eco toilet next to the cabin
Main cabin bathroom approx 100m walk through the woods from the cabin
Main cabin bathroom
Entrance to the woodland
woodland walk on our doorstep
red squirrel on the feeders
View across the Menai Strait from Friars bay just a few minutes drive from here
Penmon and puffin Island (10 mins drive from here)
View from White Beach (15mins drive from here)
Beautiful walk to Aber Falls (20mins drive from here)
view between the hills on the walk to Aber Falls
Bridge at Aber Falls
Llyn Crafnant, Trefriw
Menai Suspension Bridge, gate way to Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaumaris, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne E
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just arrived home after spending three nights here and could quite easily of stayed a lot longer. What a way to relax, the cabin is perfect and so peaceful. Make sure you leave the curtains open at all times to watch an astounding sunrise. Nan and John are so friendly and so helpful recommending wonderful places and we will definitely be returning. Jo & Paul x

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Nyth y Wiwer and you found the cabin, cosy, private with everything you needed. We would love to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lealea83
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience ”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a 4 night stay here with my husband and 8 yr old son. The cabin itself is in a fabulous location and makes for a really adventurous break without going all out camping! Nan and John were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review at Nyth Y Wiwer. We are so glad that you enjoyed the experience in our eco log cabin and that you were comfortable and found everything you needed there. We would love to see you all again sometime in the future, you are always welcome here. Thanks again Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr and Mr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely unique!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful place to take young 13yr olds. They didn`t miss the TV or phones etc. Just reverted back to being kids and playing in the woods. They didn`t want to leave. Thanks to Nan and John for sharing this lovely place.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you so much for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels nest). We are delighted that you and the girls enjoyed your stay here, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we do hope we will see you again in the future. Thanks again, Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassgirl1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful hideout in the woodland”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved this place - it was beautifully located in lush woodland, well-equipped, and the owners were lovely, greeting us and taking all our bags up the track to the hut. Just a short walk (30 mins) to Beaumaris, through the fields and on small roads was perfect too. Nan was full of suggestions for great trips out to the wide array of nearby sights and places of historical interest, of which there are many. These are also all conveniently listed in the visitor's book in the hut. In the end we stayed close to home, as it was such a lovely location to just hang out, relax, read, play the guitar. Definitely would like to come back and have a winter experience at the Squirrels nest, with the cosy wood burning fire. All in all, a lovely holiday break. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review for Nyth Y Wiwer ( squirrels nest). We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to meeting you again in the future. Best wishes to you both and many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Green...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely getaway, great owners”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We went on a short break here with the intention of having a busy adventure, however as soon as we arrived our plans were overruled by a desire to do very little but potter about the local towns either on foot or bike.

I'm sure the other reviews have described the cabin in a far more articulate way that we ever could, all that needs to be said is that it's a great location and we were made to feel exceedingly welcome by the owners, Nannette and John.

Thanks guys!

Ben & Myah

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
Hi Myah and Ben, thanks for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure meeting the two of you and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our log cabin. we do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Best wishes Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhQ997...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great relaxing break.”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked Nyth Y Wiwer for my 40th birthday as I wanted something different from a big caravan park or B&B. The cabin is set at the top of a short woodland path overlooking the valley with views of the Orme at Llandudno. We had the run of the woodland and also a private toilet/ shower room in the barn at the bottom of the path. There is also an eco-loo next to the cabin. There is no electric or running water in the cabin, but a single solar powered light for emergencies and plenty water is made available in containers. Everything you could want is provided and I loved making tea on the gas burner stood under the cabin watching red squirrels on the bird feeder. We walked down into Beaumaris following the provided directions which was a lovely half hour walk. Owners are very accommodating and we'll certainly be back when it's colder to try out the log burner.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and watching red squirrels
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review for Nyth Y Wiwer. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvcool2
1 review
“The Ultimate Secluded Getaway”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Far beyond what the info and photos depict. The cabin took our breathe away making this short break an experience we won't forget.

Isolated from Nan and John's (Couldn't ask for kinder hosts) farm house, the stunning log cabin sits a short walk through picturesque woodlands. If you want privacy, this is perfect.

Seeing the quaint cabin lit up by candle light is quite the sight and even the windy nights didn't affect the warm, cozy feeling.

Simply put, we couldn't leave and decided to stay two extra nights!

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Thank you so much for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer. It was a pleasure meeting you both, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again in the future.Best wishes Nan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing