We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stop Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Booked this recently for a business trip, wanted somewhere quieter than Bangor, but not deserted. Met by Hazel the owner at reception on my arrival, who instantly upgraded me as they were quiet. Having found parking on the main street at the front she directed me to the car park at the rear. The room exceeded my expectations, having booked a single I found Hazel had given me room 6, with a four poster! Had a quick drink in the bar and a look at the menu, which was very good! but deciding i would prefer a lighter meal asked hazel, who recommended the Liverpool Arms next door. A great pub with a good atmosphere and a large menu to choose from. Had a great night sleep in the four poster, and the room was a comfortable temperature for the whole stay. Only problem I had was tring to lock my door, you need to push and twist the middle of the inside door handle before exiting the room. Breakfast was brilliant, the bacon and sausage of a high quality! I had a fantastic rate from laterooms and had excellent value for money, would definitely try and stay here again, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 576 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

Visited wales last summer for a couple of days and decided to stay in the bishopsgate hotel beaumaris. What an excellent hotel where you can dine in a beautiful restaurant or just sit and chatter in the very cozy bar. either way you wont be disappointed and the breakfast was to die for excellent choice of local produce. The rooms were very quaint and comfortable, you can smell the sea its so close. The hotel owners were excellent hosts and made our short stay a memorable one. Beaumaris itself has many fine pubs and restaurants on offer from fine dining to the favorite fish and chips. It is a treat to wander the town enjoying local history, art (very good local art shop on the high street) and welsh hospitality wherever you decide to stay. My overall view was that I would visit this hotel again as an excellent base to explore the beautiful welsh coast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watchstrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We decided to have a weekend in Beaumaris to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. What a great choice we made! Hazel and her staff made us welcome from the moment we walked in, and through our two night stay, nothing was too much trouble. We were offered a choice of de-luxe rooms and chose room 9 for its cheerful delft(?) decor, spaciousness and view of the sea between the buildings opposite. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom roomy and more than adequate, with a copious supply of immaculately laundered linen and bath robes. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the overall impression was of a building with a "patina". Service was not "slick", but always willing and friendly.
All in all, we had a totally relaxing and enjoyable weekend, and will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RojWhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We found everthing just fine,Food ,service and staff we second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We did not stay in the hotel but ate twice in their restaurant. On both occasions we had attentive service and were served high quality food for all courses. At the end of the evening the bill was less than I would have expected for the quality of food we received.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DandO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The single room I had was a disappointment.
The room was very small, and I had a very poor nights sleep.
The curtain on the window stopped a few inches short of the bottom of the glass and when the sun started to shine in at 5 am the room became hot and despite 15 minutes of struggle the window was firmly painted shut.

Be aware, the breakfast is run on a menu basis where the guest needs to ask for all drinks and food.

However, friendly staff and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

After a long winter a 2 night break at this hotel was just what we neded to recharge our batteries. From the moment we arrived all the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The dinner was first class as were the breakfasts. Our room was large, comfy and warm with all that we needed.Polly the cat was always there to greet us with a purr! It was good value for money. Beaumaris is a friendly well looked after town with views to die for, always changing. A visit to Bodnant gardens and Penrhyn Castle are recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
764 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
107 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $116 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing