We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and restaurant!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have just returned from a 2 day stay at Bishopsgate House Hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. I was accompanied by 2 friends, along with their small dogs, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. We were greeted by Hazel, the owner, who gave each of us a choice of the 3 rooms she'd allocated for us, the attic room being the smallest. All rooms were lovely, comfortable, & warm.
The location of the hotel is perfect, being on the main street of Beaumaris, a 2 minute walk to the sea front & pier. On the second day, we decided to explore the island, Hazel sent us off with a map, a guide to local walks & told us of local places of interest..The 'full house' breakfast, copious amounts of tea & toast, set us up for our 'adventure'.
We booked for dinner in the hotel restaurant, agreeing that just a main course would suffice..that is, until we saw the menu..wow..crab salad, welsh lamb, sherry trifle, it is then..! Lovely surroundings, nice ambiance in the place, staff courteous, attentive, but not intrusive. We wished that we'd booked it on our first night too.
Pre-dinner drinks in the cosy bar, then liqueurs in the lounge after the meal. Once again, the staff were attentive & courteous, but not intrusive, nothing was too much trouble.
All in all, we've had a fantastic 2 days in Beaumaris, further enhanced by our experience of Bishopsgate House & their staff. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    131
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
296
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from a long weekend stay at Bishopsgate and can honestly say i couldn't fault anything. Very welcoming, dog friendly, perfect accommodation with great attention to detail. The whole hotel is full of charm & character. Breakfasts were superb, excellent and helpful staff and the restaurant is one of the best we have eaten at for a long time. Can't recommend it highly enough........ Planning our next stay already !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan21n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Returning to Bishopsgate...a lovely hotel in the heart of Beaumaris. Please don't be influenced by the last review....we have been unable to book for weeks as they have been full. This speaks volumes. Cannot wait!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robthereduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Caernarfon - some 12 miles away. Whilst the staff were very helpful and friendly and most hospitable, I found the hotel to be a let down . In fact I left a day early having found another hotel. We were booked into a double deluxe room - as there were no other rooms available and this was on the front of the hotel- overlooking the main road.
After three days I moved into a single room as my partner had to travel home.
The single room was not clean- the carpet was dirty and the quilt on the bed was filthy. The room was overlooking the back of the kitchen and the smells of cooking, unfortunately, filled the room in the evening. The hot water trickles out the shower head - it is an electric shower and not at all efficient.
All in all, whilst Beaumaris is a lovely village, I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Singingharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HazelJohnson-Ollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I was most surprised to read your comments, why didn't you mention that you actually booked to stay at the hotel for 3 nights, then chose to stay for longer having decided as you told me you loved the hotel and didn't want to stay in the hotel you had already booked in caernarfon as it was full of Harpists on your course. We only had the tiny single room available which you were aware of, you disliked the hotel so much you chose to eat with us every evening, twice with your partner and twice alone....................doesn't quite make sense. I can only think the tiny room wasn't to you liking. Most sorry you wouldn't choose to stay at the hotel again we were all convinced you 'loved' the place as you had told us. all a bit confusing. Good luck with the Harp and your own business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Bishopsgate for Easter,which we have not done before.The hotel was as excellent as usual.Have stayed there many times.ALL STAFF are polite & friendly.

A nice suprise from Hazel were the Easter eggs that were in the bedrooms & the chocolate bunnies that were on the tables in the restaurant during the holiday.

Hopefully we will be booking for Easter next year!.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My family enjoyed an lovely Easter weekend at the Bishopsgate Hotel. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful; they offered to cook anything for my niece for dinner and were lovely at offering her many choices at breakfast. Hazel is lovely. I didn't get all the staff's names but they are all really welcoming and put you at ease. The rooms are well appointed and there is enough room in there for dog crates. The food is absolutely delicious; my pork belly starter was gorgeous and so was the creme brulee. We'd definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to our family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyroo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. All of the staff, particularly Hazel, were extremely helpful and made sure that we had the best possible reception. We stayed in the top of the hotel in a very spacious and clean room. Both of us loved the room and the staircase which led upstairs.

The food was 5 star, both for the breakfasts and evening meals there was plenty of variety to suit all tastes and the quality of the food was excellent, a definite must if you are thinking about staying at the hotel, or in the area!

Also worth a visit is the Tavern by the Bay, just 15 minutes or so up the road. Excellent and very reasonably priced food in an amazing setting overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenTC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
315 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing