We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited for the 3rd time and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, Pate & Prawns, then steaks with all the trimmings, wonderful.
A warm welcome & great service make this a must dine experience if you are ever in Beaumaris. We are already planning our Anniversary visit for March next year...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 573 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you want to pay a little more for quality food - this is the place to go. You will not be served huge portions but you will experience dining where the emphasis is on locally sourced food, quality and care. The loin of lamb was delicious and perfectly cooked, my wife had the rump steak which she said was delicious as were the chicken dishes enjoyed by our friends. The manager and staff were all open and friendly so that the meal could be enjoyed in a relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximusDec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the Bishopsgate House Hotel. The hotel is full of character and Room 6 is very comfortable and quiet - very spacious with a view of the sea. It is located right in the centre of Beaumaris - so convenient for the pier and lovely little shops. We really enjoyed our meals - tasty and well cooked and the staff were very pleasant. Hazel, the proprietor, was very helpful and made us so welcome. We look forward to staying again for another relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I can honestly say that this is a lovely place to stay. It is most defiantly NOT perfect but it is very comfortable and laid back enough for even a seasoned traveler to appreciate. Yes the is a bit of dust and a smudge or two on the glass but it is as cleaned as your average home, it is more than comfortable and the staff and proprietor are very skilled at making you feel so very much at home. The service is very professional but comfortably friendly, the rooms are cosy, warm and sufficiently equipped, it's a bit worn around the edges but quaint and really lovely. The atmosphere is homely and you are allowed to genuinely feel at home and unrestricted by rules and regulations although the hotel clearly meets all health and safety and legal responsibilities. The food is perfect, local produce and very tasty and imaginative, it is a real pleasure to see a restaurant fully booked every night we was here, respected by other local businesses and providing quality meals at a great price. I have felt so at ease, welcomed and valued as a client during my stay here, I have slept well, ate well and felt totally relaxed at this hotel. I will be back as it is perfect for a recharge of the batteries, reasonably priced and very convenient for me. Thanks Hazel for running his place the way you do, it's been a real unexpected pleasure to stay with you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank simo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were staying in Angelsey to meet up with friends. My wife had spotted a good offer on Travelzoo for the Bishopsgate for an evening meal and b&b. the hotel is full of character and Hazel, our hostess, was friendly and informative. The evening meal was excellent and any variations we required were done, with no problems. The room was basic with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was freshly made and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank songs2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stumbled upon this gem while looking for a place for an evening meal. The food was excellent, with a lovely ambiance. Very much enjoyed talking to our lovely hostess. Our kids enjoyed the experience as much as we did because even though it was a superior quality restaurant and meal they were made most welcome. We wish is wasn't so far from home!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0ntinentalDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight on my birthday and were so glad we chose The Bishopsgate
The owner and her loyal staff were so friendly and supremely efficient We chose Room 9 and were highly delighted-four poster bed, very comfortable, two armchairs, plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the view of the Menai Straits and Snowdonia beyond We particularly enjoyed the food, which was top quality and the service was first class We both chose the loin of lamb which was absolutely perfect! Our only regret? Not finding The Bishopsgate sooner! We did enquire about Christmas and New Year-but they are booked up every year with returning guests! No wonder! This really is a gem of a hotel in a delightful seaside town and we simply cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 9 is charming, comfortable, four poster bed, lovely view-we were delighted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandChrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
761 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
106 reviews
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
663 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $114 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing