We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although the restaurant is a little old fashioned and the food 'plain' by some standards we all really enjoyed our meals. I was very tempted by the starters but we all just had a main course, hake, duck and I had the pork which was very tasty. With ice creams and sorbets to finish it was a very civilised evening and not a chip in sight. The price with drinks worked out at about £50 per couple. We have stayed at The Bishopgate before many years ago but were staying somewhere else in Beaumaris this time - but we might well be back again for a stay at The Bishopgate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank graham1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We only stayed one night. Room very clean, although the fan on the ceiling could have done with a dust but aside from that it did feel very clean. Staff all young but very friendly and efficient. We had the full breakfast, it wasn't fast but you could tell it was all freshly made. I do like service as opposed to self service. Had a good choice on for breakfast and as much tea and coffee as you want. I would recommend :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEFATDUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hazel and her team of Darren, Ian and Aaron made our Sunday afternoon Buffet Party at home a roaring success. The food was exceptional with a wonderful choice to please all tastes. Gatehouse Catering took complete control of serving food and drinks to all our Guests and at the end of the day Hazel and Aaron cleared everything away leaving the kitchen looking like a party for 50 guests had never taken place. Thank you so much all of you for helping us to enjoy a stress free party at home.

K and B
Beaumaris

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights midweek. Our room was very clean and well-provided with all the usual amenities and more, including quality still and aerated water and a lovely chocolate bar. Hazel and her young staff were extremely caring and attentive, particularly in the restaurant. The meals were first class. We dined in the restaurant on the first night and were so pleased with the food and service that we did the same on the next two nights. The early bird option is incredible value for money, given the excellent food on offer. We intend to visit again with our daughter and her husband in the near future.Thoroughly deserves it's high rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandad6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A group of 23 (including nearly 4 year old and 14 month old) of us stayed near Beaumaris, self catering, for a week in late June/ July to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary and decided to hire Gatehouse Catering (outside caterers from Bishopsgate) to provide our celebration evening meal on the Saturday, having read many good reviews on Trip Advisor.
The food and service were totally out of this world, absolutely unbelievable!!! Everything was arranged through Hazel and we finally decided on 'the works' ie, canapé reception followed by 5 courses, each one better than the one before. Mind blowing - and all for £35 per head, including the provision of crockery, glasses, flowers etc and they even washed up afterwards and left the
kitchen in a better state than they found it.
'Above and beyond' tips a huge nod to Hazel who, totally unprompted, took it upon herself to 'entertain' the two children who were becoming a bit restless toward the end of the meal (as you would imagine) leaving their mum and dad to complete the meal in adult fashion.
Many, many thanks Hazel (and crew) for a truly memorable Ruby Wedding celebration - for all the right reasons.
Absolutely out of this world, on all counts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndav1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a family party for nine here in late June. The set meal was excellent and the service very attentive. wouldnt hesitate to recommend it. not many taxis in the area so you'd be best to book them before the night .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was staying on my own so I really appreciated that Hazel and her staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food was excellent. Breakfast included everything you could want to set you up for the day and dinner very good indeed. The restaurant staff were attentive and cheerful.
My room was under the eaves, so not suitable for tall people but extremely comfortable with a lovely view across the Menai Straits towards Snowdonia. The mattress was the best I've ever slept on and no fitting or furnishing items had been forgotten. The shower was modest and simple but worked perfectly.
Apparently the hotel was a Dower house built in 1755 so there is no lift but the wide stairs are not steep.
There is car parking space - one for each room, - behind the hotel.
Although my room was on the main road side of the hotel there seemed to be no traffic noise at night, and even the seagulls seem to go to bed.
Beaumaris has a fine castle and an unusual Gaol. It makes a good base for taking boat trips, visiting lots of interesting ancient sites, gardens, beaches etc on Anglesey itself and in Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a small attic bedroom with low eaves. I assume 1 and 2 might be the same. It was however v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
764 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $116 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing