We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Gazelle Hotel(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Arms(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveler rating
381
150
47
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
150
47
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecanter of sherrytravelzoo dealdeluxe roomsmall hotelhakeexcellent foodcooked to perfectionfour poster bedfriendly hotelbottled waterthe main streetfirst classon arrivalthree course meallarge partycar parktwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 600 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived on Sunday evening for three nights and enjoyed every minute.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by Hazel and shown to a large airy room with comfortable twin beds. The room and bathroom were spotless.
The evening meal in the restaurant was first class. the sweets were heaven to my sweet tooth.
The food was so good we decided to have all our meals in the restaurant. I can thoroughly recommend the cheesecake.
The staff were friendly ,nothing was too much trouble to them.
We would personally recommend this hotel to anyone.
Beaumaris is a loveley peaceful harbour town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a wander around Beaumaris or Angelsey. Easy to get to from the bus drop off point, it is on the high street, with easy access to the pier. The hotel itself is full of character and may not be what you expect right away, but the service and attentiveness of the staff is amazing. The rooms are a very comfortable size, and kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. The staff is truly amazing and will go above and beyond to make your stay an excellent one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolei36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Bishopsgate for 3 nights over the bank holiday. We were going to book with booking.com but chose to phone the hotel who advised us that although booking.com were showing a price and availability for a room, neither choices where available. We were told that if we did book on line it may mean staying in one room for one night then moving to a second room the following day.

We agreed on the phone to a sea view room at a higher price and asked for confirmation.
We did not receive confirmation so emailed again, then phoned again a few weeks later and were reassured and promised a email to confirm. We never received it and grew concerned as it was getting nearer the bank holiday and would be hard to book else where at short notice.
I emailed again raising concerns and also to ask for the menu for the evening meal. I immediately received the menu but no response. Emailed to book a table and again no response!! We phoned a few days before we went and were assured we were booked in.

Our room was booked and we were a hour early for check in. This was no problem and we were taken to our room.
The room was ok, a little worn but clean. No duvet but clean sheets and blankets. The heating was on and there was plenty of hot water.
The breakfast was very good and the waiting on staff very professional.

The evening meal was absolutely outstanding, compliments to the chef and again to the two waiting on staff. It has been a while since I have enjoyed a meal so much. The dining room was almost empty but still had a nice atmosphere. I don't understand why as it was such good food.

We met a couple who said they had arrived with friends and they booked with the hotel whilst friends booked with booking.com. Their friends had no room available and were helped to find alternative accommodation.

My advice would be to book with the hotel. I would not stay here again as it spoilt the build up to my holiday but I will not hesitate to dine here again next time I visit Beaumaris.

Room Tip: room 2 is small, worn but has a small window with a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bankrupt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hotel is very well run by the owner and also has excellent staff. The breakfast and the range of evening meals is superb. The Evening menu is very well thought out and the cooking and delivery of food is excellent. From fish dishes to meat and vegetariian all are well presented. The owner has a saying "if you can't do it well don't do it." It is well worth visiting Beaumaris and your stay will be further enhanced by staying at the Bishopsgate Hotel

Room Tip: Room 6 The best room in the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Exceptionally warm and friendly staff, a lovely location just seconds from the Straits, excellent value, good-size and very clean room, great food and a comfortable small bar with an open fire. An absolute gem and a great relief after an 8 hour drive to Anglesey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KemptownLondon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews