We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 70th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I and 11 of my family and friends spent last weekend here to celebrate my birthday -- it was GREAT !! We have known this place for about 10 yrs but have not been back since 2009. Things are just as good as ever.We had the 'Party Menu' on Saturday Night and it was exceptional -- especially the Rump Steak .
Excellent value !! This is a wonderful location for walking, fishing, shopping, beer drinking ( we did all this !) and not touch your car for three days.
Thanks to Hazel and all her friendly staff for a very enjoyable time -- I hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the back ,so no noise and a bubble bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 576 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

the hotel has been lovingly maintained and the rooms are a good size. The hotel has it's own pet pooch but is well looked after and watched by the owner.Situated slap bang amongst the shops, cafes and other attractions. Lovely place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just had a long weekend in Anglesey and stayed at the Bishopsgate in Beaumaris. This is a very friendly hotel, the staff looked after our every need. Unfortunately the food was excellent so I am now on a crash diet. Beaumaris is a great town to use as a base for Anglesey, there’s lots to do in and about the area be it walking, golf, playing on the beach or in my case winning the crabbing competition. The secret is to by a pig’s trotter from the butcher in the high street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpyGrampaDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I have just come home after having a fantastic, tasty and first class Sunday Lunch. The welcome we received from the lady of the house was warm and friendly and nothing too much trouble. As we are local, we will definately be going back (very soon) and taking other members of the family with us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annbach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have not stayed in hotel as we live locally,but booked a table for 5 in the Hotel restaurant on bank holiday wk end
The welcome we received was warm and friendly
food and service was excellent, very good selection on the menu, nothing was too much trouble highly recommend and shall be returning soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lbro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our Jack Russell Henry on Thursday to Saturday (2nd to 4th May) and had a fab time.

When we first arrived we put the bags in the reception area and whilst Mike was parking in their car park, and the receptionist and her colleague carried all the bags, and Henry's bed, up to our room. We stayed in room 11 which was up the stairs to the left of the reception area and it was lovely, the bed's so so comfortable and the both the room and bathroom were immaculate!

Once we'd stretched our legs on the seafront (over the road) for an hour we returned to the hotel for our evening meal, I had fish and Mike had Pork and both meals were polished off very quickly indeed! The food was lovely and quite reasonably priced. Henry came down to the bar area with us and we ate in the bar so we didn't have to leave him in the bedroom. Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant area but we found this was not a problem at all and in fact, as far as I'm aware, this was the only 'restriction' we had. the staff even set up our breakfast in the bar area in the morning so again, Henry could be with us.

Everyone was so welcoming and the staff are so friendly, they doted on Henry giving him treats and lots of fusses and playing with him lots and he loved the attention!

We would definitely recommend Hazel and the staff at The Bishopsgate Hotel, we are planning to go back very soon.

We can also recommend The Pier House Bistro, the food was also lovely and again, Henry was welcome too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikekate473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

In spite of all the good reviews , many of which were spot on, we were disappointed overall. True, very friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Our room was small and poky and cold - it never quite warmed up. Dinner was nicely presented but not up to the standard expected from the hype. I had stayed here a number of years ago and remember it as better than now. Both the food and the room. The experience is probably quite dependent on the quality of the room one gets so it is worth trying to get a good one!
The location is good and not too noisy in spite of being on the main road. Overall, okay but not special

Room Tip: Some rooms are too small. Look at the pictures on the web site. Probably worth calling the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRD1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
764 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $116 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing