We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Homely & Welcoming - Especially to our Jack Russell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Extremely Homely & Welcoming - Especially to our Jack Russell”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our Jack Russell Henry on Thursday to Saturday (2nd to 4th May) and had a fab time.

When we first arrived we put the bags in the reception area and whilst Mike was parking in their car park, and the receptionist and her colleague carried all the bags, and Henry's bed, up to our room. We stayed in room 11 which was up the stairs to the left of the reception area and it was lovely, the bed's so so comfortable and the both the room and bathroom were immaculate!

Once we'd stretched our legs on the seafront (over the road) for an hour we returned to the hotel for our evening meal, I had fish and Mike had Pork and both meals were polished off very quickly indeed! The food was lovely and quite reasonably priced. Henry came down to the bar area with us and we ate in the bar so we didn't have to leave him in the bedroom. Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant area but we found this was not a problem at all and in fact, as far as I'm aware, this was the only 'restriction' we had. the staff even set up our breakfast in the bar area in the morning so again, Henry could be with us.

Everyone was so welcoming and the staff are so friendly, they doted on Henry giving him treats and lots of fusses and playing with him lots and he loved the attention!

We would definitely recommend Hazel and the staff at The Bishopsgate Hotel, we are planning to go back very soon.

We can also recommend The Pier House Bistro, the food was also lovely and again, Henry was welcome too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikekate473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    131
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
296
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

In spite of all the good reviews , many of which were spot on, we were disappointed overall. True, very friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Our room was small and poky and cold - it never quite warmed up. Dinner was nicely presented but not up to the standard expected from the hype. I had stayed here a number of years ago and remember it as better than now. Both the food and the room. The experience is probably quite dependent on the quality of the room one gets so it is worth trying to get a good one!
The location is good and not too noisy in spite of being on the main road. Overall, okay but not special

Room Tip: Some rooms are too small. Look at the pictures on the web site. Probably worth calling the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

just returned from a long weekend stay at bishopgate, and we were really impressed with the feeling of homeliness, and the staff were so friendly. We dined at the hotel a couple of nights and the food was excellent. Our room was quite big, and we had coffee/tea biscuits, the bed was really comfy, and the breakfasts were great with a choice on the menu. Would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff especially Hazel. Lovely food probably a little expensive could do with dropping their prices a bit but it was a very nice meal.
Only one thing was the highchair we had for my daughter was dirty, hasn't been wiped down.
Would definitely visit again :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just back from a surprise 40th Sunday lunch that I organised for my husband and we had such a wonderful time I had to write a review. Hazel and her staff couldn't do enough for us; from organising balloons to a cake. What was more impressive though was how welcoming they were of my little boy (10 months old). They offered to warm food, have fresh food prepared, to bring a bowl and spoon. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was SUPERB, especially the Welsh Lamb. Small restaurant but a lovely intimate feel with classy decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLHorrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trearddur Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I wanted to do something special for my husbands 60th B'day and decided to ask Bishopsgate to provide the catering for us and they did an excellent job. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was just taken care of by Hazel and her team. The food and service was excellent and made the night very special. Thank you so much for everything Hazel, everybody had a marvellous time and enjoyed themselves. I would most certainly recommend Bishopsgate outside catering any day of the week!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beaumaris is the best town to stay in on Anglesey, based on our drive 'round the whole island. The restaurant serves lovely food and all the staff are friendly. When I inadvertently left something of high value behind on a bank holiday (not realising until 4 hours away), Hazel pulled out all the stops and helped get it to me the next day. Truly amazing and the type of customer service you just don't encounter anymore.

Room Tip: Room 9 rather than Room 6 if you get a the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing