We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meraviglioso! (Excellent!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meraviglioso! (Excellent!)”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for two night break. From the start the welcome was excellent and friendly. The room was beautiful. We loved the 4 poster bed and the sea view! The evening meals were tasty and inspired. We loved the food. The breakfasts were equally as good. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. We will definitely return and recommend Bishopsgate House to our friends. Thanks for the Bavarian Black bread from the local Bakery!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    131
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
296
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Loved the hotel.
Very cozy, convenient and friendly.
Free wifi (hurray!) but if you get a room at the top floor, it may not work. :(
Free parking. Hearty breakfast.
What can you ask for more?

And the town is like as if it just popped out of a painting.
I just loved Beaumaris.
Such a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sookyoung1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, and were made to feel very welcome, especially the owner Hazel.
The twin room we had was very adequate and clean.
The meal we had on the first evening in the restaurant was well presented and flavoursome , extra vegetables if you wanted them ( too full to try the deserts!).
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Met68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Bishopsgate for one night with my husband and dog. It is refreshing to stay at a hotel where having a dog raises no issues at all! We were made immediately welcome, shown to our room and even given help with our bags. The room was spacious and clean, coming with complimentary sherry and chocolate! The restaurant was excellent and the early bird menu offered good value. We really enjoyed our stay which was finished by a good quality breakfast in the morning. It isn't the cheapest in Beaumaris but I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely dog friendly hotel. There were a few dogs staying at the hotel including our dog and they were well behaved. I think hotels like the Bishopsgate House are important since we are a nation of dog lovers.

The food was excellent and the dining room is very comfortable. There is a good choice of wines. No dogs are allowed in the dining room.

Would I go back? Yes I would.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night with friends and our little dog, Dolly. Nothing was too much trouble, staff are very friendly and approachable. We ate our meal in the bar with Dolly by our feet which was great for us!! Food was lovely! Both our evening meal and breakfast were great. I am a vegan so it can be difficult to dine out (especially twice in the same place) but this was not a problem, the staff really did go out their way. The chef prepared a vegan menu for my evening meal and soya milk and spread in the morning for my coffee, porridge and toast!Breakfast was great, served very quickly too.
Overall I would definitely recommend this B and B to anyone who is looking for a lovely weekend at the beach! And if you have a dog, well even better as they will be made very welcome too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0lly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the Bishopsgate whilst we attended a family wedding on Anglesey. It was an excellent choice; right from the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We'd brought our two dogs (one was only 13 weeks old), and again, the staff were wonderful in setting out dinner & breakast for us so that the dogs could be with us. The rooms are well equipped, and the food was superb. The hotel is in the centre of town, and is only a short walk away from the sea, with breathtaking views across the water to the mountains. I'd recommend this lovely hotel to anyone, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thechapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing