We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, Goa, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I went to Beaumaris for a Bank holiday weekend with my Mother and 11 year old son. Never having been before we loved the town, the castle and all the shops ans restaurants.
Our hotel was definitely the jewel in the crown. Hazel and her team looked after us so well my son wants to live there!
Loved the restaurant and the bar in the evening. Slept well in very comfortable rooms. Cat and dog added to the warm friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: My son loved "Harry Potter's " room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    128
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
91
293
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Pleasant stay with Hazel and co recently. This is a friendly (well, apart from the dog, careful with your fingers!) guest house / hotel and the rooms are comfortable / pretty much what you would expect having read the website - plus a few nice touches such as a complimentary decanter of sherry, plenty of coffee/biccies and a "welcoming" choccy bar in the room.

The hotel is centrally located & also one of the few with own parking I suspect. In the case of the Bishopsgate, the carpark is a secluded and private one - the only likely interference is from above (not Divine intervention - think seagulls that have over-indulged)!

Although the chef clearly has some talent, particularly with a fish, we found the dining experience mixed and were a little less thrilled than the average reviewer, it would appear. The veg with our dinner was insubstantial and cool. It was also a bit disappointing to be asked to come to dinner later than "the 7pm rush", acquiesce, then find that we get shoved in a corner when most of the restaurant was empty. This was apparently due to the tables already being laid for breakfast. Ironically, this also happened on one of our mornings - of course because the tables were already laid for dinner.....

None of this is a life & death matter and, as others have commented, the staff are friendly & helpful. Had we made a fuss, no doubt something would have been done - but this is always the last resort. This turned into a lose/lose situation as we curtailed our order to one course when we would certainly have gone for the works if feeling more comfortable; and we ate out the next night, which had not been "plan A".

On the other hand, breakfasts were excellent - the chef once again demonstrating a deft touch with a fish.

All in all, this was a nice stay, and BHH is a good base from which to explore the town/island. We suspect we just had a bit of an unfortunately timed visit when staff were absent and the remainder under pressure. However, like most people, we put up with that sort of stuff in our own jobs and, when away on hol, prefer to forget all that.

Room Tip: If stairs are an ordeal, make sure you mention this when booking as the top floor rooms are up quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Recently returned from Bishopsgate, great location, friendly welcome although not from all staff (except when manager present), hotel is in desperate need of redecoration and a good clean! Rooms are very tired and dated, carpets and curtains were dirty and stained, bathroom with wallpaper and carpet not very nice at all! After paying extra for a superior room we did not expect to be in a very tired/dirty room at the back of the hotel with only a small loft type window. Shop around there are much better places for a more reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duxy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my Beaumaris visit at this great, friendly hotel. I also can't say enough about the restaurant's tremendous food. Being from the US, I really appreciated the excellent coffee served in a French press! Proprietor has a great eye for detail and makes sure the guests are well taken care of. I still think about the salmon I had for dinner one night--best I've had in a long time!

Room Tip: Speak to Hazel, the proprietor, for best recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColetteF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in this lovely quaint hotel a few times, and each time we have eaten in their first class restaurant, the food is out of this world, the staff are very friendly and polite and nothing is to much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone, it is a credit to the owners Hazel and Denise.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you want a short break or a longer stay on Anglesey,then I can recommend Bishopsgate House Hotel in Castle Street,Beaumaris.I have stayed there countless times.

The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere about it.Hazel & her team-the ones I know are Nathan,Mel & Debbie-are friendly & helpful.Nothing is too much trouble.There is also Polly the cat,who is a great lap-warmer!.Regular guests are teated as friends.Bishopsgate is a winner in the Anglesey Tourism Awards 2012,& rightly so.

The bedrooms,(& I have stayed in 7 of the 9),are clean,comfortable & tastefully decorated.There is a comfortable lounge & well-stocked bar.

One of the highlights of my stays there are the evening meals in the very pleasant restaurant.The food is excellent.Italways seems a shame to cut into the presentation,but somehow I manage it!.

When my stay comes to an end & I leave,I am already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend commencing Saturday 12th of may, for two nights. We took the "all in" B,B & Evening meal deal, this proved to be great value considering the fantastic quality of the restaurant. If the pan fried rump of lamb is on the menu, go for it. it is fantastic! Also, try the black and white pudding, with Camarthen ham starter. The atmosphere, in the hotel, oozes character and charm. Have a pre and after meal drink, in the cosy bar or the lounge. All of the hotel staff are pleasant and helpful. it would be unfair to single out any one person.
Enjoyed our short stay. I would reccommend this hotel to all and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing