We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jennie C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

as regular visitors my sister and I and the two dogs regard "Bishopsgate" as our second home. Food is always superb with plenty of choice, restaurant service is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, pleasantly decorated and always very clean. The bar and lounge areas are very relaxing. The staff throughout the hotel are always pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 572 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stay every year for one night on business and it never fails to deliver a great stay. You may find Bedrooms are a little dated and are probably in need of upgrading, but don't let that put you off as they are very cean and the bar and lounge areas are really nice and comfortable. Food - on word Fantastic...!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Comfortable hotel and friendly,pleasant staff. Just wish that the food was as good at home!
Nice to have a comfortable lounge suitable for a quiet read.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Made a last minute booking after other accomodation fell through. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we couldn't have been treated better. Beautiful rooms (especially the 'superior'), very friendly staff, lovely breakfast. Would also recommend the restaurant. Very high quality food and not too expensive. We ended up eating here two nights out of three. Fully recommended!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank gavinames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We returned to the Bishopsgate Hotel and again enjoyed the experience.

It's comfortable and unpretentious here - a sort of homely and 'lived in' ambience. It's not particularly smart, nor is it by any means shabby. There's a warm welcome and a genuine feel for hospitality.


Unfortunately we could only stay for one night - they really want you to stay for two at the weekends - so the room we were allocated was at the top of the stairs and much smaller than the one we stayed in last time. Nevertheless it was comfortable and
we had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was looking its age - and from a safey point of view grab handles to use the over bath shower would be helpful.

We had an excellent meal in the restaurant - the crab and smoked slamon starter was very good and the half roast duck memorable for all the right reasons. Very good wine list (based on Tanners) with some very palatable wines at affordable prices. (There are also some very classy wines on the list if you want to push the boat out.). First class breakfast the next morning, served courteously and promptly.

Bill for pre dinner drinks, two course dinner + bottle of wine was c£60 + B&B was £95.

The car park is a bit tight especially for large cars.


We will look forward to a another return visit when next in the area.

Warmly recommneded.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a deluxe room if availabel- not a lot more and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Easily the nicest hotel in Beaumaris.

Large room with a very comfortable bed and beautiful breakfast.

Would love to return.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank WSJREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first stay at Bishopsgate House Hotel, prompted by the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were certainly not disappointed, as our experience more than bore out the overwhelmingly positive nature of the comments. A cheerful welcome on arrival, a large, comfortable atmospheric Georgian room with lots of space to spread out and relax, absolutely first class restaurant and splendid breakfasts; relaxed and friendly service; what more could anyone ask? The owners make a point of making every guest feel special. Sounds like a cliche but isn't at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. We are reluctant to leave this review in a way, maybe because it will tempt others to try the Bishopsgate; we want it to be our secret pleasure!

LInda and Tony

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quite large and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
760 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
106 reviews
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
663 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $114 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing