We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, will return!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel was recommended to us so thought we'd have a look whilst in the area. We were greeted by such friendly staff. The rooms were spot on with extremely comfortable beds. The breakfast was really tasty and we looked forward to it each morning. We ate in the restaurant were the food was to very high standards and some of the best I've had. Would definately recommend this little gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    131
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
296
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin traveler
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our room was not overly big, but it was very comfortable. We loved sitting in the front, guest only, pub in the evening sipping on a cold one. The breakfast was very tasty. The hotels resident cat, Polly, made my wife's day. I've never seen a cat that acts more like a dog in my life. She followed us and just climbed up and sat cuddling. I don't care for cats, but Polly was really something different. We enjoyed the special treat of a small decanter of port in our room. You don't see that everyday. My only negative for this hotel was the lack on internet service in our room. I had perfect reception sitting in the front of the hotel, but only 15 feet away, just above the modem, but behind thick walls, no service. Not a big problem though, sitting downstairs was nice in such a homey place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWisconsintravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I frequently need to stay overnight on the Island and I tried a number of hotels before settling on the Bishopsgate. I've found this hotel to be high standard and excellent value for money with the beds in particular very comfortable. The food is excellent and Hazel and her staff are very accommodating with my dietary requirements.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

A very ordinary hotel. There is better value elsewhere. Beware the so called special deals that work out more expensive than their standard rates. Menu is very limited and uninspiring.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend away at the Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant. in Beaumaris. We are always on the look out for a good place to stay that welcomes our little dog as much as us, and from the moment we spoke to Hazel over the phone to arrange the room to the moment we left on Sunday, Megan was fussed over and allowed to enjoy her stay as much as we did. Not all the rooms are dog friendly though, so anyone with an allergy would be fine as long as they mention this before booking. The Hotel itself has a lovely unusual and homely feeling. Lots of interesting antiques, warm and cozy, it was the perfect place for us to stay on a November day. I must give extra stars for the outstanding customer service we received from Hazel, to the bar and restaurant staff, who were all friendly and very professional. We managed to 'lose' an enormous box of dog biscuits between the car park and the hotel (which is only behind) and Hazel immediately went into the kitchen and gave us more than enough dog biscuits for our stay. We found the beds comfortable (perhaps a little soft for me, but only a small thing) the shower in the room good, hot and strong, plenty of in room coffee, tea, hot chocolate and horlicks with lovely biscuits. The carpark was right behind the hotel, very easy to find and free which is always a massive bonus. A little tight if you have a large car, but we don't, so it wasn't a problem at all. We ate in the bar in the evening, and because the hotel is so pet friendly, megan was allowed to sit with us. We enjoyed restaurant quality food (the same as in the restaurant, not bar food) - again a big bonus when you have a dog with you, as it is so rare to be able to combine both. Had we wanted to eat in the restaurant, we could have left Megan in the room whilst we did this, which for a special occasion would be just lovely as the restaurant itself looked really good. However, our meal in the bar was fabulous and we were treated just as well, by Hazel and her very very good staff. A good nights sleep, an excellent breakfast (accompanied by Pollyanna the cat, who wanted to make sure we were aware that she lived here too), and an 11am checkout which is quite unheard of usually. We will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Some rooms are dog friendly, others are not. Make sure you mention when booking. The hotel restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

came here at the last minute for a short break. Lovely room, excellent food, staff very helpful. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had a fantastic stay here early September. Beautiful, quiet room with loads of character and and a very welcome jacuzzi! The food was excellent - the best lamb roast I've had in years and the service was impeccable. Hazel ( the owner) was so hospitable - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterFlappergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
315 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing