We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fun for the children”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaumaris Castle

Beaumaris Castle
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A World Heritage Site, Beaumaris Castle has a perfect concentric design, is surrounded by a water moat, and has stunning views over the Menai straits and Snowdonia mountain range.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great fun for the children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were just going to walk around the outside, but the kids wanted to go in and we are glad we did. It's a great castle with steep steps up to the turrets and well maintained grassy quads inside. Worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    436
    117
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit to Beaumaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

So many of these places have become so commercial now but not Beaumaris. Some may be put off by the lack of guides and signage and such but I think it is wonderful. If you need guidance buy a book upon entry! The castle is an amazing concentric design and a joy to explore. The moat has water, the outer and inner curtains are fun to walk along the top of, and the view out many arrow loops to the sea is breathtaking. You can easily be transported back in time here as it is much as it was in the 14th century, a masterpiece designed by Sir James of St. George. Walking across the inner ward on this sun splashed day was a real treat. Don't miss finding the chapel as you search the narrow corridors. Might I suggest you take a torch (flashlight), as the walkways are somewhat lit, but there are many dark corners worth exploring.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having been to many castles, Beaumaris Castle is one of the best. Admission is only £4.50, and for that it is amazing what you get to see. Walk along the top wall of the castle, imagining what the footmen had back then.
There is some very steep steps but there is rails or rope to hold on too.
The views from the top are awesome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've travelled around a lot of Wales and been in loads of the castles and Beaumaris is definatley in my top 5.
You always wonder when you pay money to go in a castle whether it's worth it, and Beaumaris most certainly is.
When we first entered, we were greeted by swans in the moat and a blackbird having a bath!
As you wander around the castle, you start to realise how big it is, but also how many nooks and crannies there are. Then you see the walkways around the top and all the hidden corridors inside the castle walls,plus the most superb chapel inside.
We were at Beaumaris castle today for almost 3 hours exploring!
Would heartily recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gresleysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beaumaris Castle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Castle is interesting, however, the information provide is old fashioned--no interactivity. The experience needs to be brought up to date

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WESTUSAFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaumaris Castle also viewed

 

Been to Beaumaris Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing