We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Castle”
Review of Beaumaris Castle

Beaumaris Castle
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A World Heritage Site, Beaumaris Castle has a perfect concentric design, is surrounded by a water moat, and has stunning views over the Menai straits and Snowdonia mountain range.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brill Castle”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's a great ruin, nice shop, helpful an knowledgeable staff.
The day we went it could do with some litter picking, but it was very busy so I'm assuming that was tourists.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    455
    124
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For all ages”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great castle with something for all ages. Exhibition on King Edward and his castles, plenty of passages for children and grassy areas for chilling out. Good views from the walls. With cheap whole day parking and less than £4 for an adult this is worth a visit. There are also other attractions in the town to make a day's visit. The chapel is worth checking and the children will love the 'secret' room for the King overlooking it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zippy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Views!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The castle is lovely to visit and you take a little picnic to have on the grass if its sunny! The views from the sides are fabulous !! Its not too expensive to get in approx £4 per adult. Didn't take us long to walk around it, prob 30 mins and we were coming out. Kids would prob stay in longer and investigate all the nooks and crannies!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cityslicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nooks and crannies to explore”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

£3.80 for adults. Not a great deal of information boards on the inside but it's nice to be able to explore something so old so freely. Make sure you go up to the chapel (very intact given its age). If I went again, I'd take a picnic so we could spend more time exploring the whole site. You can clamber on the walls and inside the building. It's a bit limited if you have poor mobility or are heavily pregnant (hence the need to take a break by having a picnic halfway round) but even if you stay on the flat you still get a good feel for the place.

There is no cafe (but you're right in the middle of Beaumaris anyway) and the shop has lots of pocket-money souvenirs for children as well as some other, more expensive Wales/castle-related gifts.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlashJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited here when it was absolutley chucking it down, and the place becomes VERY muddy - wellies are a must! The car park on the front in Beaumaris is really cheap at £2.50 for the day - we pay that for 2 hours in our local village. The village itself it very quaint with some great little shops and cafes.

The moat around the castle is very impressive and my little girl loved climbing the stairs (which aren't too gruelling) and investigating the castle. The chapel was particularly impressive.

My only negative is the fact, as mentioned by other travellers, there are no toilet facilities, which is a real minus point if you're taking little children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RecliningBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaumaris Castle also viewed

 

Been to Beaumaris Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing