We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Bakery - CLOSED

Castle Bakery
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Good variety of freshly baked foods.Highly recommended are the Bara Brith & the Welshcakes!.Not expensive either.The staff are friendly & pleasant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LFC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    14
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herault, France
Level Contributor
305 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had a great sandwich in this little bakery. Good sized portions, pleasant staff and a great place to sit a while.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mootman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent for take away pastry/sandwiches for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose some pastry and sandwiches for a take away picnic lunch which we ate near the waterfront a short distance away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeandKarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home baked - really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice selection of cakes and buns,but my 6 pack of scones looked seriously mass produced which was disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbloke_2000_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice food - dodgy service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We called into here to try the famous Oggie (steak pasty). Food was pretty good when we finally got it. Had to wait for the lady who took our order to finish putting out a load of stock - ignoring us? Then the Oggies had to be put in the microwave as there were none hot and ready to go. Other customers were similarly ignored - it was as if customers were an inconvenience! Perhaps we just went in at a bad time (1.30pm) on a Tuesday?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank m_h140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing