We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempting aromas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 1832

Bistro 1832
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 1832 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Beaumaris
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
newport shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tempting aromas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Encouraged by the aroma from the bistro as we entered', we were not disappointed ! Food was tasty and plentiful, service was attentive and prompt. I would highly recommend this bistro. Like us you will be glad you did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jan0562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    22
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hamsons not the bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I booked the restaurant as an anniversary treat and found us booking to revisit again.
We ate in the Hamsons restaurant not the bistro, traditional but elegant silver service.
Well serviced throughout, a pleasant and very reasonable price compared to some bistros in the area, and although perhaps a little sombre for some it was nice to eat a meal without listening to mobile phones or other peoples loud chat.
No sports wear,no shorts just as fine dining should be.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbloke_2000_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect when we saw the prices - most dishes are around £10, however, the portion size and the sheer quality of the food is excellent. THis is one occasion when you actually pay for what you get rather than paying over the odds! The service was great and the choice was fantastic. The local beers are also really good to accompany meals. Great evening!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BVallely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good tasty food, but a bit pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Bistro in the Bulkeley Hotel serves food to hotel guests and other visitors from the high street. The food is tasty, but a little bit pricey for quality, service and surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank awmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Bistro at The Bulkeley Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just called for lunch in the bistro at the Bulkely ordered beef stronganoff what arrived was lumps of hard meat in an orange goo no onions no mushroom no seasoning. This meal was very dissapointing the beef was tough and it looked like it had been cut of the sunday joint.Need less to say we left without eating the meal on the way home I felt quite sick.I have eaten there before and never had a meal like this.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2461_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Bistro 1832, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Many thanks for writing your review on The Bulkeley Hotel we appreciate all comments from customers. I was extremely disappointed to read that you didn’t enjoy your lunch in our Bistro. The food which was served was not acceptable and the kitchen has been informed of your comments.
I very much hope this incident has not deterred you from re-visiting us in the future, and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1832 also viewed

 
Beaumaris, Anglesey
 

Been to Bistro 1832? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing