We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit again !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulkeley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
South Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Must visit again !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here on a group visit for 3 nights. Our bedroom was small and at the back of the hotel so view wasn't good, but it was well equipped and clean. The shower was a bit of a disaster especially if other people were calling on the water supply, but this didn't spoil our 'break'. The view of the Straights and the mountains from the front of the hotel were superb - beautiful location. We ate in the dining room each night and the food was well prepared / presented and a good choice. We loved the sweet trolley - hadn't seen one of those for years !!! The staff were very friendly, particularly those on 'evening service', the breakfast staff need to cheer up a bit !!! We will definitely visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view. The seagulls are very noisy so if you are a light sleeper take e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Entertainer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and its great to hear that you will look to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments regarding the shower and the breakfast staff, both points have been noted with the manager.
Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    242
    84
    53
    31
See reviews for
140
318
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We always make a point of coming to the bulkeley hotel for coffee and divine cake when on holiday. Staff are very pleasant and the food always good. Of course the view of Snowdonia from the lounge is to die for.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tincomaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you continue to use the hotel on your visits to Beaumaris. I think everyone should indulge in some divine cake every now and again. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed just one night here after a family wedding.
The setting is superb with magnificent views over the estuary to Bangor.
The hotel is much improved over my last visit. The bathroom in particular was fine this time, but some years ago was a total disaster.
Our room was enormous, and though a bit old fashioned, suited a one night stay just fine.
We did not eat in the hotel, so cannot comment on the food.
The staff we met were very pleasant.
If you love very modern accommodation, then this hotel is not for you. But if you enjoy staying at what at one time was a magnificent family residence which in certain respects remains unchanged, then I can recommend it for a night, though possibly not for longer

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOURMET4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you are able to notice the changes and the improvements that we are continously working so hard to achieve. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Attended a wedding here recently that was catered for brilliantly. Those in the reception with dietary requirements were looked after very well and the food was to a very high standard. Evening hog roast was also excellent.

Hotel staff friendly, helpful, and professional, and so added to the incredible views from the hotel and it's own large terrace make this a great venue for weddings, parties, food, and even just going to enjoy a point or two! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robandtow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our head chef is very good at ensuring that dietary requirments are met and that they dont limit the guests meal options. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your whole day including the hog roast which we highly recommend. We hope that you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Attened a wedding here , what a wonderful day ! The staff were very attentive and very polite .The food was delicious ..My room was very clean and comfortable . 5 star breakfast .The view was stunning ! Pier, beach, and the mountains .. would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoy holding weddings at the hotel and its always nice to hear not only from the Bride and Groom but from their guests as well on how much they enjoyed the day. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My family stayed here for 2 nights. The size of the rooms was a very pleasant surprise - my wife and I had a huge suite, much bigger than expected, and the children two small but comfortable connected rooms.
Breakfast was very good too, and the service was friendly and warm. The only minor complaint would be somewhat antiquated plumbing in the bathrooms (fiddly shower controls, dripping tap, noisy toilet).
Recommended.

Room Tip: Our suite overlooking the straits was vast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to excel expectations with the rooms. Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom, several of the bathrooms are still on the refurbishment list, however im sure you can appreciate we struggle to take rooms offline for refurbishment whilst we are so busy. There are plans for the quieter months. We hope that we are able to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is full of nice old world glamour, great attention to detail and occupies a beautiful spot opposite the pier.

The room was clean and comfortable, although both nights I was kept awake by the loud snoring of the person above me, but given that this is a listed building I doubt there is much the hotel can do about soundproofing.

The breakfast service was fresh and plentiful, with friendly and helpful staff. The only downside was that I was the youngest occupant by a country mile and got a few sour glances at my tattoos from the elderly clientele!

I would definitely use the hotel should I ever be in Beaumaris on business again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. Im sorry to learn that you didnt have the best nights sleep, you are right with the hotel being a grade 1 listed building we are limited to what we can do. However we have started to soundproof the rooms above the function suites so prehaps we can look at eventually soundproofing all rooms in the future. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon either on Business or Leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#2 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulkeley Hotel

Property: The Bulkeley Hotel
Address: 19 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bulkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaumaris
Beaumaris Best Western
The Bulkeley Hotel Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing