We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to meet your photographer”
Review of The Bulkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bulkeley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked a one night stay here as a bit of a break between Christmas and new year. The photos showing roll top baths and tiled floors promised a night of Victorian elegance which, regrettably never materialised. The reception area was cluttered and untidy with tired furnishings, peeling paint and a general air of neglect. The interior design theme continued into our room. Furniture that was outdated in 1989, a worn carpet, a bathroom suite that I last saw when my grandparents house was refurbished in the late 70s. If this hotel has a handyman I suggest they have his eyesight checked for colourblindness as the toilet seat was a completely different colour! Our "genuine" Victorian bed was held together with shelf brackets and on closer inspection was actually a bed frame surrounding a collapsible bed! An absolute joke! The noise from other rooms was ridiculous as well as the floorboards outside the door sounding like someone was walking into our room. On calling reception we were told that the people upstairs had just arrived and the noise would subside shortly. It didn't. On checking out I wasn't surprised how many people were gone before 10 am. Overall very disappointing.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yarwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 769 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

The owners are missing a trick. This hotel has fantastic location but is too dated and it shows. We only went for snack lunch and found the entrance dirty. The lounge could have been wonderful with new light decoration and fresh flooring. The coffee and sandwiches were really good but the neglect of this hotel has put me off ever staying there. If they spruced it up then I am sure it would attract clientele.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estelleManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A 4 day break away brought us here,1st the smell of a old as home hits you as you manage to squeeze yourself in the revolving wooden door with suitcase, the checking in desk is around the corner. The lift can take you up to your floor helps, although I cannot do lifts so up two flights of stairs the 2nd flight was like climbing Snowdon, until day 2 when a kind member of staff showed me another gentle flight. The room was basic clean,the hot water was a bit hit and miss,timing when others would not be using it all up.
Breakfast everything you need to set you for the day plenty to choose from all hot cooked perfectly and the staff very nice and welcoming. The housekeeping came in each day and left room sparkling.

The coffee shop area situatated right by main entrance serves lovely coffee and selection of cakes.

The seating in the lounge area is a mixture of old leather squishy Sofa's and very strained along with the carpets, peeling scuffed walls and under the radiators a months worth of dust mixed with dropped food. The manager did explain the place was in he middle of being done up the new roof has been completed, the bedrooms etc , fair comment would be we paid half price we got half of what will be a fantastic hotel break.

Room Tip: 119 is on 2 levels, room 205 has sea views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Majestic and beautiful old building was constructed to host the future Queen Victoria on a visit to Anglesey in 1832. It dominates the picturesque village of Beaumaris and commands an enviable position with stunning views across the Menai Straight. I had taken a studio suite with sea view and spent one night en-route to the Dublin ferry.
The current owners have managed to deftly merge 21st century pricing with 1970s levels of quality and service. The fixtures, fittings and decoration are all very tired. I ate in the bar as the restaurant was empty and found the evening meal to be a little less greasy than breakfast. Overall I wasn't sufficiently impressed to add this place to my list of regulars. Highlights were viewing a glorious sunrise across the water and tender sweet Welsh lamb chops. Lowlights were being unable to regulate the temperature of the shower and finding my Atlantic king prawn cocktail was a combination of rocket leaves (?) and hot, deep fried, battered, torpedo prawns (Iceland style) wrapped in cold Marie Rose sauce...
A little investment and a change of attitude could rejuvenate and create a superb hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The public cafe in this hotel serves the best cappuccino in Beaumaris and the toffee/apple cake is fab!. A real bonus is that they allow you to take your dog in too - although we love to sit outside on the terrace overlooking the Straits & mountains if the weather is fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank IanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Popped for afternoon tea, the service excellent, it was very busy and the two you girls were fantastic, and very sweet, the building is a little tired, but wouldn't stop me from staying a night, the 3 stars seem a little low from the grand place that it is, I would imagine that with investment the could be an absolute gem of a place

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank CheffyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel could so easily get 5 stars...and a pleasant stay was had by our party. We had 2 sea facing rooms, both were a good spacious size with large bathrooms - the view is fantastic with full length windows, so you can see Snowdonia from your bed!! This hotel was built for Princess Victoria to stay in before she was Queen, and the splendour is still there although a little run down.
The staff were all friendly and pleasant until breakfast, the unhappy faces say it all, they are totally understaffed and under trained and one particularly rude senior waiter, we had to wait 30 minutes for a table! The cooked breakfast was superb, and such a choice, although plenty of sliced bread, not really a continental style for those that do not want the full English!! Prices for wine and beer are reasonable, but would recommend a bottle of wine and not a glass (a bottle is cheaper than 2 glasses). Again the staffing levels are exposed as even though the bar was full, we still had to go to reception to get someone to serve.
I would stay here again, and 3 stars is about right, but could so easily be 4 or 5 with the right management and investment.

Room Tip: definitely get a sea view, worth double the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spainy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
108 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
488 reviews
22 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulkeley Hotel

Address: 19 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $87 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaumaris
Beaumaris Best Western
The Bulkeley Hotel Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing