We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very short, but excellent experience!”
Review of The Bulkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bulkeley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very short, but excellent experience!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for one night only, the 20th September, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very young but had clearly been properly trained and exuded a welcoming and happy atmosphere. We were part of a one night coach trip but our welcome and general experience of this hotel has left us determined to make our own arrangements to stay longer in future.
Well done.

Room Tip: We used room 201 with a sea view! Recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerfish1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    253
    87
    56
    35
See reviews for
149
335
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Took my wife here as a surprise for her birthday.
Difficult to fault the hotel, room (sea view) staff, food, ambience all excellent, even the weather was good! Free wi-fi in all rooms.
Whatever we asked of the staff they had no hesitation in sorting us out.
The restaurant was run efficiently and the food quality, quantity and presentation were first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireAandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated the rooms are warm and inviting. There is a coffee shop on the premises where you can relax and read the paper.
The hotel avertised on the net a spa, but this was not available and I would suggest not to book a room with an evening meal as you could end up paying more for the food that if you pay for what you choose to eat off the menu.
The food was of a high quality and well presented and worth the money charged.
All the staff were friendly and breakfast was of a good quality with plenty of choice.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a view it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieM904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel in a great location overlooking the Menai Straits it does appear tired and dated though and in need of some internal refurbishment and appears to missing the Best Western brand name it once had.

Bar and restaurant staff extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable although our bed on the second floor was very hard and not at all comfortable.

Food throughout was excellent shame though about the dated décor.

Room Tip: Try and select one of the Sea view Rooms overlooking the Menai straits and Snowdonia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharks056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arriving late Thursday night we were warmly greeted. Our room over looking the street was very clean and comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived at our room before we did, that's service! All the staff without exception are helpful and friendly Breakfast fresh and plentiful, the young lady serving at breakfast with a genuine smile and welcome chat deserves a special mention. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan0562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beaumaris is a worthwhile stop and this hotel is great. Bethan in the hotel bistro was delightful! She was super helpful and provided efficient and friendly service. The food in the bistro was delicious and value for money. The hotel cleaning staff are lovely! The front reception staff and Nigel were great. This hotel is beautiful with its historic ambience. We would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Been in this hotel for lunches but never stayed ,till now. we booked a sea view room and took our 2. king charles pets.Our room was very big with a king size bed.Room was very clean and fresh towels daily. We ate in the restaurant on our first night ,food was delicious. Breakfast was delicious also. All staff very friendly.We had a really nice two nights stay.Would go for longer next time. Would recommend this hotel it's just so nice and has a great position,right on the prom.

Room Tip: book a sea view room, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulkeley Hotel

Property: The Bulkeley Hotel
Address: 19 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Bulkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaumaris
Beaumaris Best Western
The Bulkeley Hotel Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing