We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 204: a beautiful room with an amazing view!!”
Review of The Bulkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bulkeley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Hotel & its location are perfect. Rms 104 & 204 are beautiful with three large windows allowing great views of the sea & mountains beyond. The rooms are decorated to a high standard. Room 204 has a comfy 4 Poster bed. The rooms are warm and the bathroom is a very up to date wet room with a roll top free standing bath.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at every stage of our stay.
We will stay there again and highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 & 204 are beautiful with three large windows allowing great views of the sea and the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Bulkeley_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we like to hear that our guests are happy and service was excellent as we pride ourselves on looking after our guests at every stage of their stay.
Thank you
Arwel Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 750 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

The restaurant of this hotel has a great position with sea-view. They offer a well priced menu (4 courses). Good atmosphere, the food was lovely, the service was especially welcoming and very attentive. We reccomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasonatlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Bulkeley_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

We thank you for your kind comments and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Bulkeley Arms in Beaumaris many times as it is a reasonably priced hotel for work.

The views are breathtaking and there is nothing better than a stroll in the morning or evening sun.

The hotel is set up for older people and it has the charm and character if an old jacket, that you like and feel at ease in. Rooms are OK, though do try and ask for a sea facing room if possible. Breakfasts are fine and the staff treat you like you are long term residents and are always friendly and chatty.

The only downside to this hotel is that you will need to get your car washed after your visit, as the seagulls seem to enjoy messing up all the vehicles in the hotel car park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Bulkeley_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for your comments its always good to hear that our regular residents feel at home and part of the Bulkeley Hotel family, And we are still trying to negotiate a ceasefire with the seagulls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

A lovely Hotel with really friendly, helpful staff. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

we visited for a weekend, service is second to none! staff so helpful and polite. beautiful building and very nicely decorated, breakfast delicious and huge! would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 543,211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were a little disappointed with our stay here. The hotel itself is wonderful and there are some beautiful views to be had from the rooms however we had a superior room for £110 and felt it was not quite suoerior enough. The room was spacious and clean,the bed was a four poster and was lovely but the mattress was a little thin. We had two mismatched chairs in the room and even though the room looked recently painted there were two random patches on the wall which I was not sure if they were damp or something had been removed from the wall. The bathroom was clean but again there were signs of tiredness such as flaking wood around the bath and the shower panel not fitting too well meaning water managed to escape during showering. Maybe its just me but for a room of that price I just expected a little more. I do agree with other reviews concerning noise and you do seem to hear every noise from other rooms and I was woken up once or twice by doors slamming and people walking past our bedroom door. The staff were very good and we ate in the bistro which was nice average food at average prices but our waiter was a wonderful enthusiastic gentleman who deserves much praise. Breakfast was ok but the waiting staff seemed to be working at high speed. Before I had finished my cereal my cooked breakfast arrived and placed in front of me forcing me to swiftly lift my cereal bowl and finish eating from eat whilst holding it as the tables were very small and there was nowhere to place used dishes. As soon as anything looked like it was at all finished with it was hastily removed by staff so not the most relaxed breakfast I have had but again the staff were polite. We would go again but maybe would make use of the more simple double rooms at a lower price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were visiting the castle and booked into this hotel. Staff were helpful on reception. We had problems getting to sleep as the couple in the next room were loud waking us up with laughing and banging doors at 6-30am. We thought it was a basic breakfast and on checking out we found our car blocked in by another car at 9-30am. We asked staff if they could sort it and we went sightseeing till 11am. On returning to the hotel nothing had been done until we asked again but they didn't know who's car it was. In the end two staff members moved their cars so we could leave. We felt this should have been done two hours earlier.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterBeadnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
106 reviews
22.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
653 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulkeley Hotel

Address: 19 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: $100 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Bulkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaumaris
Beaumaris Best Western
The Bulkeley Hotel Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing