We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit”
Review of Cennin - CLOSED

Cennin
Cuisines: British, Welsh
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been to Cennin many times as we are frequent visitors to Beaumaris, as the quality of the food is superb. The atmosphere of the restaurant is relaxed and friendly, and the staff will take time to explain the dishes to customers. The ingredients - including the meat - are all locally sourced, the meat from their own butcher shop downstairs, which is also worth a visit - the Welsh Black Beef is the best beef I have ever bought and I always take some away for our freezer. There are a number of restaurants in Beaumaris where one can appreciate better food, but Cennin is one of the best. The wine list is also very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbit1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    22
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is a Welsh Restaurant Gem !”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

There are plenty of choices for eating out in Beaumaris, but Cennin would take some beating if you like high quality food served within an unpretentious but sophisticated environment. The presentation of the food apart from the quality is a real work of art and there is so much attenion paid to colour and texture that the dishes look almost too good to eat. However, we succombed to temptation and were not disappointed with scallops for starters, Welsh lamb and sea bass for mains and chocolate extravaganza's for desserts !
This is not a cheap place to eat but a 3 course meal for two for under £50.00 per head is good value considering the high quality of the food, presentation and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A tale of two halves”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Planned as a father's day treat, we arrived excited as had experienced chef Aled's food on previous occasions when he was at Plas Bodegroes, and it had been exceptional. Reviews here on trip advisor led me to believe I should expect good things too. It is fair to say that the food was exemplar, each course full of flavour and nicely presented. It is also fair to say that the surroundings were really nice and it represented brilliant value for money. The problem was that the service just did not match the quality of the food or the surroundings. That is not to say they were unpleasant, far from it, just not efficient. Long wait to order, people who arrived after us served before us, second jug of water forgotten then asked again later if we wanted more water, horseradish forgotten, waiter not knowing what fish he was serving, gave us dessert menus then didn't take order until asked, at payment time one waiter could not take payment, so had to get someone else. We did let them know things were not quite right, once at dessert and once at payment and apology was offered which did seem genuine. So as I say, a tale of two halves, amazing food, tricky front of house. Everyone can have an off day, so we probably have been unlucky. Hope that is the case, and will return to see if that is the case as food was so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keren056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“outstanding dining”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing food and excellent service with a lovely personal touch. My dad and I ate here after having dined over the road at the Bull brasserie and Loft, and Cennin beat them both! Comparable or better quality of food to the Loft but slightly cheaper, in a more relaxed and informal atmosphere. Dad and I both had fish (scallops with cauliflower for me, beetroot rain brow trout for him) to start which were delightful and presented beautifully. For mains we had beef and lamb which were outstanding - truly some of the best ever, particularly the lamb. The taste is surely testament to the excellent farming practised of the farmers/restauranteers who run the place. What they lack in amuse bouche and canapes is made up for a hundred fold by the quality of the food you choose. Excellent wine list too.Thoroughly deserves its place in the good food guide and should be your number one food destination in beaumaris. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch food with excellent local ingredients”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

A slow start, as we arrived on time, having reserved a week ago, to find a full house of mostly walk ins, and slightly flustered staff. However, we soon got to our table and the staff redeemed themselves with apologies and gradually, excellent service. Better still, when the food came, we realised why we were here; awesome ingredients, beautiful local tastes and clever combinations. By the end of the night, we were given a presentation by our waitress Fiona on the origin of the cheeses and it was clearly a labour of love. Top marks again Aled and Cennin. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WirralJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cennin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing