We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative”
Review of Beaumaris Gaol

Beaumaris Gaol
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Reasobably priced, though as always the gift shop was overpriced. It was really interesting to see the various parts of the gaol and its history. It s easy ro forget that there is more to see than the astle in beaumaris. Worth a visit if you enjoy history.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmonkey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    109
    23
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Took us an hour to go around was very informative and interesting really takes you back in time. The £2.50 parking is not that close and is rather pricey really depends on if you are going to the castle aswell. We parked on the road for free an hour was just enough to save getting a ticket.

Helpful?
Thank Lawlryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good afternoon”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent place to visit Brilliant digital guide that gives all the information you need Good value for money

Helpful?
Thank WendMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very interesting to see prison conditions of the time. Going round takes about 45 minutes and you get a handset commentary to give all the details of the prisoners lifes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeanLobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great experience, very atmospheric.....scary as hell in places!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went after reading such great reviews on trip advisor, so to be fair we were a little dubious. How wrong we were, this is a great attraction.
Just the right mix of information, living history and down right spookiness.
The audio tour is atmospheric and informative, and easy to follow.
The tour is circular and simple almost impossible to get lost (although the couple complaining loudly in front of us somehow managed that feat).
Personally I had a great time, although I think after an hour we have seen all there is to see, so unless they update the displays and I don't know how they'd do that I think this may be our only visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaumaris Gaol also viewed

 
Beaumaris, Anglesey
 

Been to Beaumaris Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing