We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuff Paddy Burt We Like It And I'm Fussy”
Review of The Bull Beaumaris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Beaumaris
Ranked #5 of 7 Beaumaris B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We were in Beaumaris for a family funeral, we have stayed at the Bull a couple of times and its the 'local' for some of our Welsh family members. The atmosphere is genuine old world pub with hotel bolted on. It creaks, the stairs are wobbly, the rooms small and odd sized, but its a bit old ( like me?). The refurbished rooms are contemporary and quality furnished if a bit cramped and a little expensive. Stay up drinking until you won't need to lay listening to noises outside, its right on the main street. Get there early and you may get in the car park, if not the council one is free and close. Its a pretty location in Beaumaris, castle a few yards away, seafront, pier, boats. Best of all though is the main restaurant, forget the brasserie, thats for cheap skates. The food is world class, service spot on, decor relaxing and modern , chairs comfie, the food wins it for me and if it wasn't for the fact that there are many world class hotels and B&Bs after my rating I'd have given it 5 stars, but for Wales 4 from me is pretty good. Paddy Burt hated it, she must have had a bad trip driving that day, if you are prepared for a warm cosy pub , a little noise at times but bags of atmosphere and superb cuisine this will be for you.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 496 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2006

This hotel is the antidote to business hotels. It is small-ish, is in the centre of a quiet seaside town and, as it dates back to the 1600s, has lots of character.

The rooms had been refurbished since my last visit and they've done a good job. They are not large, but simply and adequately furnished. The revamped bathroom was also simple and fairly small, yet they had invested in good quality fixtures and fittings.
It was very warm though - even in mid-November.

To maximise space in the room, a flat screen TV was in a small recess.

The bar looks like you'd imagine an ancient pub to be, and is quite small with another smaller room adjoining it. The brasserie food was truly excellent (best fish and chips I've had for years) and good value, with very reasonably priced wine.

They are very accommodating there should you, as a resident, decide to linger over a few bottles of wine until late into the night. Breakfast was excellent - with the best kippers I've had in along time. There was plenty of fresh fruit and fresh orange juice, and good service.

There is not much parking in the old courtyard, and you may have to park in the side street alongside.

Ye Old Bull is a pleasurable place to stay - and can be recommended if you want an hotel with nice ambience, good food and service - and a reasonable bill at the end.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I generally have a star minimum when it comes to hotels, I tend to stay at Hiltons, Sheratons, 4 seasons type of places but last week I was driving on the ferry to Dublin so needed to stay in Anglesey. On searching on the internet I looked doomed but eventually found the Bulls Head which looked to be the best of a bad bunch. The room on the website looked ok if not a little "B&B" but I went ahead and booked.

I was dreading the whole experience but was pleasently supprised. For such a small town and basicly an upmarket pub it was great. I had a large twin which was not that cheap at £112 inc VAT and breakfast but not pricey considering the standard.

If you are used to hotel standard then this should be ok

The receptionist (cant remember her name but she was forigne) was excellent. Better than any 5 star hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MATTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPsaucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Todmorden, Lancashire
12
Reviewed April 1, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2006

5  Thank johnBroomhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
769 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
108 reviews
2 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
379 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Beaumaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Beaumaris

Address: Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AP, Wales (Formerly Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumaris
Price Range: $129 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Beaumaris 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Beaumaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bulls Head Hotel Beaumaris
The Bull Beaumaris Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing