We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel in the Crown”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaumaris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Cottage B & B
Ranked #3 of 7 Beaumaris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After doing extensive research of where to stay in Anglesey, Beaumaris hit the spot.
Beautiful location & a wonderful town & a very nice place to escape it all too.
After careful consideration we chose to stay at The Victoria Cottage B & B.
On arriving at Bangor, we got a little lost on where to catch the bus & one of the owners, Carole picked us up from the station. It was like a mini guided tour of the area on our way to Beaumaris.
From the moment we got there till the day we left we were looked after & was made to feel it was our own personal B & B.
Carole & Jeff run a very very nice, posh, clean & extremely friendly B & B & the place is just 1st class. We felt so at home & at ease & the breakfast is out of this world as well as the service.
We will stay there again for sure & longer too.
Just want to say that Carole & Jeff are a credit to Anglesey & to Beaumaris & are the Jewel in the Crown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeymourAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
97
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's hard to think what else to add but I cannot resist adding to the wonderful reviews for Victoria Cottage. We booked a last minute stay for Bank Holiday Monday for two nights and we could not have been more relieved that we chose Victoria Cottage. We stayed in the Ashurst Suite which is absolutely lovely and more than enough space for the three of us. We have a young child so the separate lounge area was perfect. Carole and Jeff are genuinely lovely people and could not have made us feel more welcome. They are attentive to your every needs without being intrusive and I cannot wait to visit again. I travel a lot and have very high expectations and there was not one thing I could have faulted. The whole B&B was spotlessly clean and has been furnished beautifully. Everything available to you is of a high quality even down to the little extras like the fresh milk, the cakes and the toiletries. I have recommended the B&B to all my friends and family and describe it to them as 'flawless'. Thank you to Carole and Jeff and "hello" to Georgy.

Room Tip: All look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose to stay at Victoria Cottage for our annual girls trip away (me, my sister and Mum) over August Bank Holiday.

Carole and Jeff were both so helpful when I rang up to book and sent through an information pack to confirm our booking.

We stayed in the top floor Ashurst suite which had lovely bedroom (comfy double and single beds with dresser, hair dryer, straighteners and wardrobe), a bathroom with a gorgeous roll top bath, and a lounge area. There was a TV, DVD player and comfy sofas in the lounge. Menus of all the local restaurants were available in the room which was useful when choosing where to eat out.

On arrival, Georgy was there to greet us, Jeff helped carry our bags upstairs in true 'sherper' style and Carole provided us with yummy homemade cake and tea. We were made to feel so welcome and at home and nothing was too much trouble, from advice on the best places to eat, to providing us with a wine cooler and glasses for our evening dinner & wine by the sea. Jeff was also great in helping us pack the car with our excessive amounts of luggage when we left.

Breakfast was delicious with locally sourced produce and homemade preserves. My sister liked the marmalade so much she bought some to bring home.

We loved our stay and wanted to stay another night! We will definitely be returning and have no hesitation in recommending Victoria Cottage as it is the best B&B we have stayed in.

Thank you Carole, Jeff and Georgy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cezcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This really is an excellent B&B - the consistent 5 star reviews are totally justified. We stayed in the Victoria Room which was a good size, very clean and comfortable with a modern ensuite. There were nice views of the sea from the window. It is worth noting that there is no TV in the room. Carole and Jeff are very friendly hosts and provide an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, cereals, fruit juice and a very tasty cooked breakfast. There's also lots of toast available with local jams. The cost of staying here is slightly above average (£90 per night) but as a B&B it is worth the extra outlay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This really is a wondeful B&B. Carole and Jeff made us feel very welcome and really do go the extra mile to ensure guests at Victoria Cottage have a relaxing and comfortable stay in their home.
We stayed in the Victoria Suite, which is a lovely bright and airy room with super views from the window seat. The bed was very comfortable and there's a super shower in the en suite. A lovely touch is the fresh milk in a flask for tea and coffee rather than those awful little pots of UHT milk that other B&Bs use, plus of course, the fresh home made cake to have with our tea when we got back from our day's walking/exploring.
Breakfast is fantastic; fresh fruit, greek yogurt, cooked breakfast, and lovely home made jams and maramalades.
We will certainly return to Victoria Cottage. I can't recommend it highly enough. It is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. All credit to Carole and Jeff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing but postive things to say about this place. Carol and Jeff were the most attentive hosts who really look after you.
We stayed in the Ashurst suite on the top floor. It consists of a bedroom with king size bed, single bed, dressing table and mirror, big wardrobe and a safe.
A bathroom with stand alone roll top bath with shower gel, bath cream and soap.
More storage space with dressing gowns and a lounge area with tv, DVD library, book library and a hospitality tray with a variety of teas, coffee, fresh milk in the fridge and china tea cups.
Every day there was home made fruit cake left in our room awaiting our return from a busy day.

There is an information pack in the room with menus of all the local restuarants, which makes picking somewhere for dinner easy.

Breakfast is delicious, home made jams, marmalade, toast, cereal, fresh juice, coffee and a hot welsh breakfast. The sausages in particular were delicious. Nothing is too much trouble for Carol and jeff.

You can also park on the green across from Victoria Cottage for £3 all day and over night.

The location is perfect, right in the centre of beaumaris, just off the high street. Very peaceful and quiet.

Would always stay here whenever in Angelsey and recommend Victoria Cottage without reservation.

I have been lucky enough to travel the world and stay in some amazing hotels but the personalised service we received from carol and Jeff makes Victoria Cottage one of my favourite places and hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Chosen a couple of months before our visit we realised the price was above average for a B&B but we were to be celebrating a special occasion so we decided to push the boat out and without doubt we made the right decision. Having received a welcoming letter on booking our stay and a good range of brochure info re the accomm and resort we also got a very warm reception on arrival. Both Carol and Jeff were there to greet us and offer assistance with luggage and familiarisation with the hotel and in particular our rooms (the Ashurst suite). Every aspect of the accomm was spectcularly smart and tastefully decorated. The charm of the place was complemented by the real friendliness of mine hosts and the extra touches they gave to the level of service they provided - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a treat - not just the food but how well it was presented in a classy but cosy environment. By the time our short stay was over we felt we had made new friends in Carol and Jeff and we are already looking forward to planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.0 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 5 in Beaumaris
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
998 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Cottage B & B

Property: Victoria Cottage B & B
Address: Victoria Cottage Inbetween the green and Castle Square | Right in the Heart of Beaumaris, Beaumaris LL58 8DA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 5 star **** grading. Anglesey Tourism Association Silver Award for Best B&B on Anglesey 2013. In the heart of Beaumaris near the castle and the green, a splendid Victorian building awaits with sumptuous accommodation throughout and the choice of three superb bedrooms. Two en suite double rooms on the first floor and a 'whole of top floor' 3 room suite inc separate lounge (This can be twin, king size double or small family). You will receive a warm welcome from your hosts Jeff and Carole who provide delicious fayre from locally sourced produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Cottage B & B Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing