We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night not enough !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One night not enough !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for 1 night Thurs 12 June as we were attending a funeral. We did not like it WE LOVED IT !! We phoned half an hour before arrival to enquire about food Elaine (co owner) made suggestions and we settled for fish and chips which was served up within minutes of us arriving !
Excellent service we call that. Nothing is too much trouble for Elaine she will do everything and anything she can for you,she even stored our funeral flowers overnight in the cellar. Our room was so clean no dust everything so fresh.LOVED IT. We left to attend the funeral but had to return to Lastra as we left the flowers behind ANY excuse to return !!! Oh and breakfast was fab, we have 4 local friends eating there soon.THANK YOU ELAINE AT LASTRA .

Room Tip: We were in Rm 8 plenty of space, shower over bath , 2 armchairs to watch T.V.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangorBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    54
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
208
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's a good hotel and restaurant, not a luxurious spa hotel, but it does not have pretensions as such, and it's a lot nicer than a chain hotel. It is very clear the staff and owners try hard - thinking of the extra touches. Booking was quick and easy - dropped an email with our requirements and was answered in an hour. Rooms very pleasant and well equipped and a nice welcome for our dog. The Gate House is 2 mins walk down the road - don't know if it is possible to negotiate a footpath over the field rather than along the road? would be a nicer walk, especially at night. Evening meal was quite good, you could tell the quality of the ingredients was top class especially the meat but we thought having the same gravy on the pork and on the lamb roast let the standard down a bit. Seafood starters were excellent, and imaginative although portion size a bit erratic - not a major fault! Service was great, both evening and breakfast. Some misunderstandings on the bill, but put right without hassle once noticed. Nice place for a stop while touring Anglesey, near some excellent beaches.

Room Tip: Gate house rooms are ground floor, so good for dogs, but you do have to walk up to the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Great small hotel. Really well kept with really friendly attentive staff. Food in the restaurant was superb as was the cooked breakfast the day after. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff and great to see the owners working along side the rest of the staff. Fabulous time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lastra Farm is a great base for exploring Anglesey. Room was clean and comfortable, atmosphere friendly and everyone who worked there extremely helpful. We booked an evening meal and the food was delicious. Would definitely stay there again. Diolch yn fawr.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gatehouse, a few yards from the main hotel. It had a lovely garden, and if you were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowrijones68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

My sister booked us into the Lastra as a 70th. birthday treat for me. What a find she made. We were made most welcome. Our room was a delight. It was a family room with a double bed in one part and 2 singles in the other. All fitted out in lovely tapestry covers and curtains. The evening meal, in the conservatory, was excellent and plenty of it. Sue our waitress was friendly and served our three courses with efficiency. We had a glass of wine, again excellent. Coffee then bed. Beds were most comfortable. Our shower was great in the morning. One point - a towel rail by the wash basin & shower would make life easier. A full Welsh cooked breakfast was again well presented, and delicious. Adrian can give himself a pat on the back for yet another delicious meal in the evening. Little extras in the hotel made all the difference - although there were small cartons of milk on the coffee/tea tray there was the option of fresh milk kept in a fridge just along the corridor. Decaf. tea was produced, again by Sue, when this was commented upon.
It is in a lovely rural spot with plenty of parking spaces and as noticed, other guests were made welcome when arriving with their rather large dog!
All in all a wonderful find and I hope both Elaine, co-owner, and Adrian continue to go from strength to strength with the team of co-workers they employ.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 - Lovely and airy with views across the vfields
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bordoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Booked evening meal for two in the conservatory and I have got to say it was excellent. The price was not to expensive, service great and quality of food really good. Both of us enjoyed the atmosphere and believe it was good value for money. Could do with some background music to help people relax.
Plenty of car parking and located in a lovely rural location. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked to stay at lastra in june last year for 2 nights as I was visiting friends on Anglesey and it was one of the nicest hotels I found when looking for dog friendly, they were amazingly helpful on the telephone and very accommodating also allowing me to bring my 2 dogs as well, upon arrival we were given the key to our room which was room 9 in the gatehouse about 200yds down the road from the main hotel, when getting to the gatehouse it was beautifully quaint and had a little garden with a bench where my girls and I could play ball and relax, my room was beyond all words it was totally beautiful and very big and spacious with wonderful décor, also they had put a mat and water bowl down ready for my girls which I thought was a really nice personal touch!!! the next morning I went for breakfast and I was not left disappointed as like everything else it was plentiful and lovely and all freshly cooked :-) the service from the staff was second to none and on my second night there Elaine was extremely helpful when I had to go to local hospital and was lovely to me!! i had one evening meal in the restaurant last year and it was delicious beyond words and the service was excellent!! there is not one thing I could fault about Lastra Farm and I have recommended it lots and will continue to do so!! in 4wks I am going back to room 9 in gatehouse at Lastra for a week this time and I am so excited and cannot wait and ive also booked the adjoining room for my mum to come experience the good times this year also :-) amazing hotel, amazing staff, amazing food!! Thank you everyone at Lastra for an amazing break last year and look forward to seeing you again very soon, Maxine and Kiara & Krazee

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
14.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
13.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Penrhyd, Amlwch LL68 0RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly commended hotel is an excellent base for the business traveller or those well earned Holidays or Short breaks. Our restaurant is one of the finest in the area with a reputation of only serving the freshest of ingredients to create truly memorable meals. The Hotel caters for receptions, banquets and conferences in its Parys suite, which boasts a beautiful Victorian Conservatory reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lastra Farm Hotel And Restaurant
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant Amlwch, Wales - Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing