We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific - go there now!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
275 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Terrific - go there now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived wet and cold at Lastra Farm and were given a warm welcome by Elaine who showed us to a first class and well equipped bedroom with a large en suite shower room. We could not have been more comfortable. She kindly provided lots of hot coffee to revive us and we thought we were in heaven. After a tour of Amlwch we returned to Lastra Farm for the Valentine's night dinner. This was very well organised with prompt and skilled service, and the food we chose was excellent. They paid great attention to detail over simple things like the olive selection and the good quality bread and this is always the hallmark of success. Lastra Farm would hold its head high anywhere in the UK for the quality of its customer service - the very good bedrooms and the fine food. If you have not been there - book it now you will be pleased you did.

Room Tip: Room 1 was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    54
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
207
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We dined here on Valentines night, and were very impressed!
I am not a huge fan of going out on Valentines days for fear of being seated in 'couple’s row' of a restaurant somewhere and receiving a rushed half hearted service. We picked Lastra Farm Hotel through the reviews on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed, and asked if we would like to sit and have a drink before having a meal. It was fair to say that the service was relaxed and professional from the outset. The tables were spacious and nicely dressed, we certainly didn’t feel crammed in like I have experienced elsewhere.
The menu had lots to choose from (there was also a special menu for the evening) and did justice to the delicious food that we received.

From this experience, I cannot fault the place, and would definitely recommend it to others.
One possible drawback was that it was a little drive to get to from the main land, but was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just returned from 1 night stay at Lastra farm with the better half. stayed in the gatehouse superior which was ideal and only short walk from the main hotel. staff were brilliant and nothing is to much trouble. Ate in the main restaurant and the food was excellent, breakfast was superb and i would eat here whether or not i was staying for the night.

Room Tip: stayed in the gatehouse about 200 yds from main hotel. The walk which although is not a long wayhas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

A bit off the beaten track but worth tracking down. A good experience with a hearty welcome followed by a traditional roast dinner served by friendly staff. A very clean and tidy establishment............................................................................

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lastra is an excellent place to stay. We stayed in the gatehouse no9 for 3nights and cannot fault it, will definitely choose to stay there again. The food was fantastic, so much so we ate there for the 3 nights and tried something different each time. Elaine, Adrian and the staff were very welcoming, very efficient and very friendly. We will be back, even thinking of booking for next christmas.

Room Tip: Gatehouse no9, quiet, comfortable, spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed overnight on the out bound leg. Comfortable room in the main building, excellent dinner in the evening and breakfast the next morning was also excellent.
We had already booked for the return leg and were looking forward to staying again.
We had a problem with the return ferry crossing in that the fast cat was cancelled due to
" adverse weather conditions". This meant that we wouldn't get to Lastra farm until 01.30.

My wife rang and spoke to Elaine who said that she would leave a key for us, and asked if we wanted her to leave sandwiches for us. (We didn't need these as Irish Ferries had provided us with a voucher for a meal.)

Found the key, went to bed and roused at about 10.00 am. Went down to the dining room hoping to get coffee and toast (breakfast finished at 09.30) to be greeted by Adrian who insisted that we have a proper cooked breakfast!

Truly excellent, caring service!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

3rd time at Lastra and we look forward to returning many more times. The room was spotless and tastefully decorated. Elaine and the team did a wonderful job of ensuring we had a great time and everyone was so friendly throughout the 3 days. The standard of evening meals was superb and breakfast was as good as I've ever tasted both in presentation and options available. As for the location of Lastra, there is some of the best coastal walking in the UK just a short drive away.
Congratulations to all the staff for a great job well done.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 1 & 3 previously and both were of the highest standard. Beds have been large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
14.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
13.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Penrhyd, Amlwch LL68 0RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly commended hotel is an excellent base for the business traveller or those well earned Holidays or Short breaks. Our restaurant is one of the finest in the area with a reputation of only serving the freshest of ingredients to create truly memorable meals. The Hotel caters for receptions, banquets and conferences in its Parys suite, which boasts a beautiful Victorian Conservatory reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lastra Farm Hotel And Restaurant
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant Amlwch, Wales - Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing