We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and explore Anglesey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We wanted to see Anglesey and needed a base for a few days. Chose Lastra Farm mostly from the TripAdvisor ratings and were not disappointed. Very hospitable hosts, lovely food and accommodation. We stayed in the Gate house Superior Room which is 200m from the main hotel but secluded and cosy. (There are 3 rooms in the Gate house). Ate in the restaurant both nights we stayed and the food was excellent. It is obviously a very popular restaurant locally which says a lot. If you want any advice on where to go and what to see they will point you in the right direction. Very enjoyable stay and recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyHill307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Thank you very much for going to the trouble of writing a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our newly refurbished Gate House bedrooms. The team in the kitchen are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Adrian & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

we have just had a two night stay at the lastra farm hotel, we had booked b&b but after looking at the menu we decided to have our evening meals here as well.
the hotel is just on the outskirts of amlwch, there is a large carpark and the hotel is well signposted.
we had booked two rooms one for me and my husband and one for the father in law, both rooms were very nice, all the usual bedroom facilites but with a few extras like chocolates on the pillow and bottles of water, there an small fridge down the corridor if you need extra fresh milk or water,
the hotel as a nice bar area with a good selection of drinks. and the resteraunt which was in a conservatory was very pleasant with views over a patio area.
the resteraunt as an a la carte menu, a specials menu, and the early bird menu all with a good choice.
i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Thank you very much for writing a review. We are all very pleased to read your comments and we hope you come and try us again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Adrian & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Staff are friendly and welcoming. The bedroom was lovely - wonderful bed. Spotlessly clean. Evening meal was excellent - all local produce. Breakfast fantastic.
Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathpasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

What a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed stay and dining at Lastra farm and thank you for the lovely write-up. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Anglesey. Best wishes Adrian and Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Given the accolades splashed all over the web site of this establishment, we elected to use it as a base for a couple of days on Anglesey.

The host and his staff were pretty much as advertised, friendly and helpful but, and it is a big but – the establishment is not in our opinion, up to the hype. Yes the rooms are clean but let down by a dated look and very small showers with no shelving for the toiletries to hang or stand (always difficult!). The loo seat in our room failed to stand for gentlemen, another difficult one!

As for the food, breakfast was fine but the night we took dinner was a disaster. It would seem that the host was away that evening and he may not have been made aware of our complaints. In brief, a dreadful tasteless steak served in a congealing pool of thick gunk, it was simply dreadful. The vegetables were no better, grossly overcooked and wrinkling at the edges. On complaining, I was offered a different choice but despite my not eating the meal, it was charged for.

I know this is against the general grain of reports but it was as we found it. In summary, over hyped and overpriced for the venue – nice people but no follow through when things go wrong. Based on our visit, could I recommend it , I fear not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rodt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, we take on board all positive and negative feedback to make sure we can constantly improve our hotel and service.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We were made aware of your comment about your choice of main course. To appreciate the full flavour of a Welsh Black sirloin steak it may have been better to have chosen a straight grilled steak. Unfortunately the dish you ordered has a melted stilton cheese glaze which in itself can over power the delicate flavour of a Welsh black steak.

We wonder if you didn't quite appreciate what Lastra Farm was all about when you chose us. The 17th centaury family run farm house has been sympathetically renovated into a comfortable Welsh farmhouse hotel with style and charm. Part of the magic for many travellers is staying in a place that isn't a modern purpose built hotel but a privately owned (not part of a national or multi-national chain) that is matching and exceeding the standards of the bigger luxury hotel groups.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to and hope the rest of your trip went as planned.
We always strive to make sure our customers have a great stay at Lastra Farm we are very sorry if this was not the case for yourselves.
Adrian & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely weekend break at the hotel to celebrate our Anniversary.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and informative- nothing seemed too much trouble.
We had a superior room which was spotlessly clean and very spacious and comfortable.
The food was excellent, we ate in the dining room in the evening and breakfasted in the conservatory, both of which were lovely, great food and service. They even included a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate our Anniversary- a lovely touch!
We will definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jillian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Lastra farm, and for such lovely comments. We're delighted you enjoyed your anniversary. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We had an excellent 5-night stay at the Lastra Farm. We are a walking group of 11 who have stayed in B & B's and Hotels all over the UK. This is the first occasion that we have all decided that a further visit will be planned in the future. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with lovely bed linen. Our breakfasts and dinners were most enjoyable with a good choice to suit all appetites!! What makes this place special is the staff, they are all friendly and attentive and by the end of our stay we felt more like friends that paying guests. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaToSkyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

Thanks’ for reviewing Lastra Farm. We are very pleased you all enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, it was a Pleasure looking after you all thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The staff were superb and extremely helpful and the food was well priced and of very good quality.
The hotel was very clean, the room was lovely and the facilities abundant.
Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibbo1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Lastra farm. We are delighted to read your comments.
We are also very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our food, we know our chef's read the comments and will be equally pleased.
We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
1.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Gadlys Hotel & Restaurant
Gadlys Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
117 reviews
13.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Penrhyd, Amlwch LL68 9TF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly commended hotel is an excellent base for the business traveller or those well earned Holidays or Short breaks. Our restaurant is one of the finest in the area with a reputation of only serving the freshest of ingredients to create truly memorable meals. The Hotel caters for receptions, banquets and conferences in its Parys suite, which boasts a beautiful Victorian Conservatory reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lastra Farm Hotel And Restaurant
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant Amlwch, Wales - Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing