We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good on second visit”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Visited here a few months ago when it had just been taken over by the new proprietors
It was a but upside down with more off the menu than on but four of us eating did have tasty meals and enjoyed the food and the stunning views from sitting outside
On our second visit however the food was disappointing
I had the lasagne which I found to be very dry and seriously lacking in sauce. The meat was bland and had and no sauce in it whatsoever so it was really like eating mince meat and nothing more
The garlicky bread was garlic ciabatta but was very thin and dry and tasted of nothing more than crusty bread
My friend had the Lamb Henry, exactly the same as the last time we visited, but it was served in a completely different way and the vegetables were barely visible when served. It was ok but certainly nothing to praise

The batman/waiter was very pleasant and attentive

But it's not cheap here and I'm not really sure I would make the effort again from Conwy

And after reading the review about the family who booked the family christmas party and having to cancel because of the loss of a close relative through cancer and then refused their deposit refunded I actually feel less inclined to visit
Empathy stretches a longer way in times like this family suffered.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Sorry you didn't enjoy your second visit as much as the first.
It's a shame you didn't point out your feelings whilst here as we may have been able to rectify your grievances.
Our food is always slightly different each time you have it as its all home cooked and we buy our meat from a local butcher who tries to keep things as consistently sized as possible but joints of meat can sometimes bit slightly different in size, taste and consistency.
We hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 328 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Driving round the coast from Holyhead we came across Trecastell Hotel, we were greeted with warm smiles and a warm bar, the food was lovely and the Guinness was excellent. The staff were relaxed and helpful, just a shame we were only passing through. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolBford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Glad you liked our hotel and please return soon for a longer visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We are a local sports club and Came here for our Christmas party it was brilliant. The food and the service were great Gill and her team could not do enough for us.
In the past 2 years this place has had 4 different people running it and to be honest we had pretty much given up on it ever being good again. Gill and James have put the sparkle back in the place.

I have since been back with my family and had equal quality food and service long may it continue good luck for the future I will be spreading the word locally and further afield.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hellbent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thanks for recognizing all the hard work that we as a team have put in.
See you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just stayed here for one night and cant fault the place. Gill offered us an early breakfast as we were a team of 5 working in the area. she is in the process of slight refurbishment and the place has a great atmosphere with good food. You will always get people with silly opinions about food portions etc, but none of us had any complaints will be back in the summer, good luck Gill.

Room Tip: There are premium quality rooms with views to die for, just ask on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyc645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We thank you for taking the tie to comment on our hotel.
You are right that its impossible to please everyone, but we do try to as much as possible.
Glad you and the lads enjoyed you brief visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a fantastic weekend spent at trecastell. Went with a group of friends for Friday and Saturday night. Ate in the restaurant for both nights and had a lovely tasty meal, can definitely recommend Brie and mushroom Wellington even if you're not a veggie .

This is the second time we have been to this hotel and have to say well done Gill and James for creating such a lovely relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

Gill was also serving breakfast which is hot, tasty and definitely sets you up for the day. She is a hands on type of lady who looks after her guests with welcome and makes you feel relaxed and happy to be there.

We stayed in room 5, and what a beautiful and relaxing room. The king size bed was so comfortable and two goods nights sleep was had. The little extras of tea, coffee biscuits and water, plus the little extra bathroom bits were well appreciated.

All said and done, lovely time had by us and our friends, and would we recommend this hotel and a stay with Gill and James? You bet!! You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are really pleased you liked our hotel as much as we do.
Please visit us again soon to see the changes that have been made which we hope has improved the hotel still further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

we stayed 10 days in October / November and are thrilled to see this lovely building being cared for and updated. We have recently stayed in rooms 5 and 14 are are pleased to say both rooms are now re furnished. We liked them before but love them now

Room Tip: love 5 and 14 but the other rooms are also in process. Love the new menu, the staff, the sofa in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Many thanks for the report.
We have made some changes to the rooms but are planning to improve them still further over the next few months.
The downstairs has been nearly completed with just the bar and carpets to finish it off.
Look forward to seeing you again when more work will have been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After walking 9 miles on the coastal path this morning, we rewarded ourselves with lunch at The Trecastell. The welcome was warm and we were able to sit in the conservatory and enjoy the beautiful view across the bay and out to sea, watching cargo ships and ferries passing in the distance. The menu is very comprehensive and we would have been happy with a number of options. What we chose was excellent and the seafood pasta dish particularly good. The sticky toffee pudding was also delicious. Although the starters were a bit small, main course and pudding were generous and we were certainly full. The Chilean rosé was very good too.

The service was efficient and friendly, prices are sensible and the location is superb; we spent a very pleasant 2 hours here and would definitely return if in the area.

Room Tip: Book a table in the conservatory if you want to enjoy the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments and look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
1.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
261 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range: $100 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Amlwch, Wales - Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing