We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just stayed here for one night and cant fault the place. Gill offered us an early breakfast as we were a team of 5 working in the area. she is in the process of slight refurbishment and the place has a great atmosphere with good food. You will always get people with silly opinions about food portions etc, but none of us had any complaints will be back in the summer, good luck Gill.

Room Tip: There are premium quality rooms with views to die for, just ask on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyc645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We thank you for taking the tie to comment on our hotel.
You are right that its impossible to please everyone, but we do try to as much as possible.
Glad you and the lads enjoyed you brief visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a fantastic weekend spent at trecastell. Went with a group of friends for Friday and Saturday night. Ate in the restaurant for both nights and had a lovely tasty meal, can definitely recommend Brie and mushroom Wellington even if you're not a veggie .

This is the second time we have been to this hotel and have to say well done Gill and James for creating such a lovely relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

Gill was also serving breakfast which is hot, tasty and definitely sets you up for the day. She is a hands on type of lady who looks after her guests with welcome and makes you feel relaxed and happy to be there.

We stayed in room 5, and what a beautiful and relaxing room. The king size bed was so comfortable and two goods nights sleep was had. The little extras of tea, coffee biscuits and water, plus the little extra bathroom bits were well appreciated.

All said and done, lovely time had by us and our friends, and would we recommend this hotel and a stay with Gill and James? You bet!! You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are really pleased you liked our hotel as much as we do.
Please visit us again soon to see the changes that have been made which we hope has improved the hotel still further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

we stayed 10 days in October / November and are thrilled to see this lovely building being cared for and updated. We have recently stayed in rooms 5 and 14 are are pleased to say both rooms are now re furnished. We liked them before but love them now

Room Tip: love 5 and 14 but the other rooms are also in process. Love the new menu, the staff, the sofa in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Many thanks for the report.
We have made some changes to the rooms but are planning to improve them still further over the next few months.
The downstairs has been nearly completed with just the bar and carpets to finish it off.
Look forward to seeing you again when more work will have been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After walking 9 miles on the coastal path this morning, we rewarded ourselves with lunch at The Trecastell. The welcome was warm and we were able to sit in the conservatory and enjoy the beautiful view across the bay and out to sea, watching cargo ships and ferries passing in the distance. The menu is very comprehensive and we would have been happy with a number of options. What we chose was excellent and the seafood pasta dish particularly good. The sticky toffee pudding was also delicious. Although the starters were a bit small, main course and pudding were generous and we were certainly full. The Chilean rosé was very good too.

The service was efficient and friendly, prices are sensible and the location is superb; we spent a very pleasant 2 hours here and would definitely return if in the area.

Room Tip: Book a table in the conservatory if you want to enjoy the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments and look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Called as a family on a cold winters evening had heard under new management. Young man at bar was pleasant enough and drinks was good. However the food Parma ham was actually cooked ! The goats cheese was dry and the bread/ toast was like rock ! Gammon was good but can't go wrong that ! However the mushroom and pate lacked Tate and creativeness . Overall really disappointed with the food but hope you get it right !!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Wyn765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit as most of our visitors seem to.
We apologize that the menu and food wasn't to your taste and expectation on that particular evening and it is a shame that you felt unable to tell us of your opinion at the time you were here for us to have rectified the situation and changed what you were unhappy with.
We hope that you will try us again and that we have not put you of making a return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've just returned from this cosy, friendly hotel and can honestly say it was excellent. We stopped three nights and using previous reviews decided to eat in on our first night. The food was so good we cancelled our last night out and had our evening meal at the hotel! Breakfast was also excellent with numerous choices. Gill was so obliging, offering to freshly make anything we wanted. I usually have a full english but I had a cheese and ham omelette on my second morning followed by two perfect soft boiled eggs on the third. Nothing is too much trouble and all staff are very friendly. Yes, the hotel is being refurbished but this only adds to it's charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a report.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit especially your meals with us.
We hope that you will stay with us next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on saturday 5th October - a last minute booking having done some homework on trip advisor, and we were so glad we did. Gill is so friendly, your made to feel welcome and at home from the minute you walk in. We had dinner and a few drinks in the bar, the food was lovely and very reasonably priced, it has a really nice atmosphere. The staff are really friendly, everyone just makes you feel welcome. The room had beautiful views out over the bay, a fabulous big bed that was so comfy we got a lovely nights sleep. Gill even got up early to cook us a breakfast before we went to a car boot sale ! Gill really does go the extra mile, its like staying with a friend, she cooked a few extra veggie sausages & made us a butty for after the boot sale .. amazing service.
We both raved about Gill & the service the whole week we were away ! As Gill says herself its a work in progress, it has a few rough edges but the service more than makes up for them, its clean, lots of easy parking, the bar and restaurant both look out over the sea, the price was top end of our budget but we still feel it was value for money as the service was top class. We cant wait to come back next year and see more of her improvements to the place.
Thanks to Gill & the staff for a lovely relaxing night

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveabreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Really glad you enjoyed your visit and we try to treat all our guests as friends as we know how we like to be treated when we have the chance to stay in someone else's hotel.
We hope you won't leave it too long before coming back to enjoy our hospitality and that of all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
8.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
653 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
257 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range: $100 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Amlwch, Wales - Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing