We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage with total peace and quiet”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Porthwen Farm

Porthwen farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm Porthwen farm with sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm with sea views
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Bedroom 1 with king size bed
Bedroom 2 with double bed & cot. Sea views
Bedroom 2 with cot & sea views
Bedroom 3 - twin beds
Family bathroom
Enclosed private garden with decking
Garden
Sea views
Sitting area with sea views
The old brickworks Porthwen bay
Sunset over porthwen
Views of countryside from the front of Porthwen farm
The neighbours
Hall/sitting room
Dining room
Hall/sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Amlwch, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda H
1 review
“Idyllic cottage with total peace and quiet”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful cottage in a brilliant location. It is situated 400m from the main road on a quiet country track ensuring the peace and quiet that you wish. It is a brilliant setting for people with children also. Some lovely walks around the area. This is a great base for looking around Anglessy with so many things to see and do. Great weather for this time of year to. The house has so many rooms to chose from, we sat in a different room every day. I was only there for 3 days and would have loved to have stayed for a week. Would certainly recommend this to anybody. Truly awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idyllic setting
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volvic10
Todmorden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a 3 night stay earlier this month. We wanted a quiet location, with access to coastal walks and some outdoor seating areas. Porthwen Farm met all our criteria ,and more.
The cottage was down a lane off the road so was amazingly peaceful. We could not believe when we pulled up that the whole house was ours!! We loved all the different areas and loved the feel of the house. The bedroom with sea views was lovely and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. It was so lovely and quiet which was just what we wanted and needed.
We could walk from the front door without using the car which was brilliant. We enjoyed sitting in the garden areas and were so lucky with the weather.
Angelsey is wonderful and the area the cottage is in is great. We loved Bull Bay, Cameas Bay and Red Wharf Bay.
We wished we had longer at this lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The cottage and the setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzielat...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful 17th century cottage, loved it!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous cosy cottage for a week mid August. Quite remote, lot's of sheep and cows viewed through the windows. Very quaint!
Fantastic home for a week.
Everything you need is provided kitchen wise (dishwasher tablets, washing liquid, hand wash, polish, anti bac wipes).
We switched each evening which room to relax in. There was the sitting room, kitchen dining table area, then when cooking a good meal, we'd retired to the dining room. After this we'd retreat to the lounge, very cosy indeed!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do mind your head though, very low door hole, as would be expected in such an old cottage.
The bedroom with sea views. Such a comfy bed!
My daughters had their room, but decided to stay on the landing couch bed the rest of the week. =-)
We went to the Trecastell hotel for food, and it was delicious, just around the corner. Also Bull Bay hotel served great food, but Trecastell had a wooden play area for children at the front. Our favourite beaches were around 15 mins drive from the cottage, Benllech, Moelfre, Traeth bychan and Red wharf bay, just a bit further.
Fantastic holiday home I would stay in again and again.
We saw a hare and grouse, and wandering on the coastal path, many butterfly's in beautiful colours.

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the overall package. Brilliant.
Liked least: Making sure all the rules were followed by everyone, being my responsibility.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BeezieJ
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! what a find - fantastic”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic very spacious & extremely homely farmhouse set in a beautiful hidden area of Anglesey. You just felt at home the moment you arrived, very clean & tidy, beds were very comfy, too comfy lol. Very well equip throughout and very well provided with pretty much everything I think, apart from your food. The welcome pack was very much appreciated after the journey, thanks Bev, (milk, tea, coffee, sugar, water, wine, logs, fire lighters, toilet roll, & flowers which were beautiful). A very informative information file is provided for the house, sight seeing, places to visit & eat, beaches, shopping etc.
The setting is so tranquil with sea views, many seating areas in the gardens with sheep & cows in the surrounding fields. I've never seen so many different butterflies, we even saw a red admiral which we were able to identify from the wide range of books provided. The kids had a fantastic time (they didn't want to leave) they were very safe playing outdoors (no traffic) & well provided for with games & books, even a miniature snooker table & a rocking horse.
We enjoyed walks from the door step to Bullbay where we saw dolphins, birds of prey, buzzards, - amazing. We loved Cemaes bay beaches & village, we recommend The Stag & the harbour as great places to eat. Lligwy is only 10 mins away, a large beach with cafe & water sports, & Benllech 15 mins.

We had a totally wonderful time, & I would definitely recommend Porthwen farm, and Bev was very easy, friendly & helpful, & quick to reply. Will definitely be back again & again now I've found this gem.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquilty and Peace in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous home from home accommodation with everything you need for self-catering! A beautiful house in a peaceful location with a lovely garden. Because the accommodation relies on spring water and a septic tank please follow all the guidance offered so you don't mess it up for the owners and others. With 3 lounges it was hard to choose where to relax in the evenings! Although the property is 17th century it has every mod con and is kept lovely and warm. Porthwen is not far from the coastal path so within an easy distance from some very beautiful walks and scenery. We were only there for two full days so Friday we went to Bull Bay, and easy walk with plenty of time to relax in the bay, the second day we went in the opposite direction to Camaes Bay, slightly more challenging but nevertheless very worthwhile. Whether your there for a weekend or a week there are plenty of sights to see and all the people we met were all lovely and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the accommodation
Liked least: The scary do's and don'ts notices (but I'm sure they get all sorts staying there so I can understand them!).
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindseyg9...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A brilliant cosy cottage for friends and families, with lots of room. Provided a home from home feel and has everything you need. Very suitable for children,young and old and provided a great base for exploring Anglesey. We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing