We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amlwch Copper Kingdom

Amlwch Copper Kingdom
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a most interesting place. Well designed and telling a story that is almost from another world.
The receptionist certainly knew his stuff. The only shortfall was the video - it intruded a lot in the other areas and needs to be perhaps on a start button rather than a continuous loop. Some soundproofing would be good too.

A 'must do this' before the trip to the copper mine itself!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    51
    13
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Martian landscape on Parys Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Somehow, we managed to miss the Copper Kingdom when we followed the signs for "Copper Mine" and immediately found ourselves in the car park aside the disused workings on Parys Mountain. The walk around this, arguably once the world's largest copper mine, is quite inspirational. Probably a good couple of miles around the circumference if you explore all the byways, the landscape reveals strangely alien reds, coppers and grey slate mounds peppered with purple heathers. We made our visit on a sunny August day and the vibrant colours set against a blue sky were breathtaking.

Read the information posters and it's hard to believe that the huge crater before you was dug by hand using shovels and axes. We didn't make it to the bottom, preferring instead to walk the perimeter and cross the bridge at the far end. From here, the extent of the mining can be seen from both sides. A short walk takes you to the tower - not much to see here, though you can go inside.

Fantastic photography, a bracing walk - and a great place for Hollywood to film Martian landscapes for fiction movies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twinfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
267 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Like being on Mars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were lucky enough that friends of ours took us round here during our stay on Anglesey. We have never been anywhere quite like it. We walked for over an hour round trip on the site, an old disused copper mine. I would recommend stout footwear, as the paths are uneven, and if you have dogs, keep them out of the water pools, as the water is not conducive to a healthy dog! The site is also quite steep in places, but it is SOOOO different, you really can imagine being on Mars. If you are on the Island, give it a try!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheap and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Really easy to find, really cheap to get in and a very educational.

I found this interesting but so did my 5 year-old thanks to the interactive element.

I had great fun doing copper rubbings and overall was pleasantly surprised.

This place is great for a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Etbl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not much to say...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Ok if you are in the area, but not worth a long trip! We thought there would be more there, but sadly no!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lcs8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amlwch Copper Kingdom also viewed

 

Been to Amlwch Copper Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing