We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A splendid cottage with sea views and a good base...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pilots Cottage

Pilots cottage from the road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pilots cottage from the road
View from decking area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Pilots cottage from the road
View from decking area
Lounge
Amlwch Port
Lounge
View from garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
View of Pilots cottage from the road below
View from decking
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroon
Bathroom
Lounge
View of Pilots Cottage from other side of Harbour
Dolphins at Llaneilian (lighthouse on headland)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Amlwch, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maurice c
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A splendid cottage with sea views and a good base to see the area”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and well equipped and comfortable and as we like walking it was ideal for the coastal path .The local Co op supermarket was good for provisions.
The copper kingdom near the harbour was very interesting place to see
tv reception was poor at times

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its situation near the sea
Liked least: The steps down to the kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter4619
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here one week weather not the best but hey we made the most of it, cottage is lovely excellent bedrooms and really comfy beds a big plus. Views from the cottage are fabulous especially the kitchen which is also huge and well kitted out,
My only criticism is that there's only one bathroom which is a bit of a pain when you're sharing with three girls that all take forever !!! Plus it could really do with modernisation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the brilliant communication before our holidayl, to our arrival at pilots cottage, all was seamless and very welcoming. The cottage layout is great, modern decorationand a great view to the port. Lounge andkitchen easily accomodated the 5 of us and the bedrooms were great too. Well placed for access to all attractions in Anglesey, but car recommended to get around.Tried a few of thebeaches and restaurants withfalconry, Rhosneigr, treaddur and pen mon recommended. Ate at caemes bistro and benllech beachcomber both recommended.
a fab stay in an excellent accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent overall
Liked least: didnt catch any fish in the harbour.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Pilots Cottage is one of the best cottages we've ever stayed in and we've stayed in many. The view from the very large kitchen window gives it the 'Wow' factor. It is dog friendly at no extra charge which is a huge plus. Literally 2 minutes walk to the coastal path which is great for walking the dogs. The coastline here is very rugged but beautiful with the stunning yellow of gorse everywhere you look. Even though the weather could have been better we still had a relaxing time with plenty of walking. Places to visit - South Stack on Holy Island, Motor Museum in Newborough, RNLI in Moelfre, Pili Palas Nature World in Menai Bridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog Friendlyand stunning view
Liked least: nothing - what's not to like?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage with a fantastic view”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week at this beautiful cottage. We were lucky with the weather sunshine everyday. The cottage is very comfortable with lovely views out of the windows. You cannot drag yourself away from the kitchen window as the view is so good. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would want to make your stay perfect. The cottage is warm and cosy to relax in. Plenty of parking and a lovely decked area to sit out on and watch the fisherman unload their catch of the day. Directions to get there and entry details were very good. We will certainly return to this cottage by the sea

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the cottage overlooking the harbour and the sea
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann S
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable and stylish cottage.”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent four nights at this lovely cottage with our dog. The house was even better than it looked in the photos. It was a real home from home, warm, really well-equipped and stylish. It was the first time we have rented a cottage in Wales and we were not disappointed. The weather was poor, really wet and we were very happy to have a comfortable home to come back to after a day out. The port area around Almwch was very interesting but you need a car to see the other sights of Anglesey. We really highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and the view from the kitchen window.
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMold5...
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner and I stayed here for a birthday weekend with our son, daughter in law and baby granddaughter, 9 months. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and extremely well equipped. It had a very homely feel to it and we immediately felt relaxed and pleased that we had made such a good choice of cottage. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need (and more). We found everything to be of a high standard of cleanliness. The beds were comfy and the large squishy sofa lovely to snuggle into in front of the fire on a cold windy evening. A wonderful feature of the cottage is the large arched window in the kitchen with a fabulous view of the sea. A week before we travelled, Claire sent a very helpful email giving detailed directions and instructions for keys etc. We all enjoyed our weekend very much and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing