We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 3 Amlwch B&B and Inns
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

big thank you to michael and family, a lovely place to stay, quiet, clean and very helpful in every way, fantastic views and a lovely breakfast too!! we (five of us) stayed in the top floor with no problems so don't be put off by silly comments!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidj_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

All round good expierance - room large clean and well kept - breakfast excellent. Good local pubs that allow dogs and you can eat, happy to go back! The room we had was attached to a second bedroom via a landing so great for families, separate shower / toilet. Tea making faciliities with fresh milk! - happy days.
Well worth stopping if your in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

not amazing!
staff not so helpful as they where
shame
nice grounds well kept
nice breakfast
but two of the most unsuitable hoteliers i have met
they are nice but a little out of their depth
the top floor are well suited to either midget or dwarfs as the beams are so low
if you don't bang your head I'm sure there should be an achievement award
it is now up for sale this may be a contributing factor in the decline

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglassManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhianfa, Owner at Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we value all input as it helps us improve. I have looked to contact you directly to further understand the issues you experienced and possibly offer you some redress for your disappointing stay. Unfortunately our records do not show a repeat customer in room no7 during September last year. I did send you a message via Tripadvisor but you have chosen not to respond and I can no longer contact you via this route as you no longer accept messages. I can therefore only respond to this review based on my understanding of the situation.
We believe that room no.7 was the old servants quarters and the doorways are low but we have received very positive feedback about the character and space in that room, indeed the review by bigfozbelper on the 20th of June this year refers to that very room.
Judging by the tone of your review you obviously have strong feeling about your stay and I would like to understand why you didn't talk to us about them at the time or indeed post a review shortly after your visit rather than wait for almost a year.
I would also like to point out that the fact that we have put our house on the market could not have had an impact at the time as we did not decide to sell until January this year.
With regards to our ability to be hoteliers, I can accept that we are not perfect and there will always be areas we can improve on but your review is so out of line with the other feedback we get that without any further clarification of what it is that we did wrong I can only chose to not act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A great find. We stayed for 3 nights in a family suite which was comfortable, well equipped, good standard of decor and furnishings, spotlessly clean and overlooked the garden. The breakfast was very good indeed with a good choice of cooked breakfast items as well as lovely fresh fruit to go with the cereals. There was plentiful, up to date information about the area and places to visit, where to eat (there are 2 local pub / hotels that do evenng meals) etc. The couple running the place were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Faultless!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Difficult to fault. We were given, what I assume, is the family room at the top of the house: 3 rooms + bathroom; 3 TVs (we only managed to use 2 at any one time); well-equipped throughout; friendly; excellent food; great location except (and this is not the B&B's fault but seems to be general in Wales), you have to drive to get an evening meal (we found the local pub to be cavernous, cold and rather unfriendly). Try 'Little Italy' in Amlwch but beware what you order; the pizzas are too big for any mortal to consume at one sitting (they will box the remains up for you and they taste almost as good the next day when you're sitting watching the tide coming in!

Recommended without any hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigfozbelper_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This B&B was brilliant, the cleanest, most comfortable of any B&B that I have stayed in. It would beat any 5star hotel. The breakfast was just delicious. The family room was so spacious. Just brilliant. From Carol

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny007055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here with my 12 week old daughter and my mother in the family room, number 6. It was spotless, and it was more like an apartment with two rooms, then just a family room. The couple running it, Michael and Sian, we're very courteous, and the breakfast was great. Hands down it is the best b and b I have stayed in. My self and my mother are very picky about cleanliness in hotels etc, and this by far excelled expectations. The grounds are lovely and peaceful also. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: For a family, room number six.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getibq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
0.3 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
621 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
236 reviews
15.2 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhianfa

Property: Rhianfa
Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhianfa is a quiet and friendly family run establishment on the outskirts of the beautiful seaside village of Bull Bay. The property itself sits in 1 acre of land and is surrounded by fields and trees and is 300 yards walk away from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhianfa Amlwch, Wales - Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing