We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hostel”
Review of Snowdon Lodge

Snowdon Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tremadog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowdon Lodge
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's a hostel”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here with a huge group of traveling college students, we had most of the place to ourselves which was fun, but I probably wouldn't want to stay were alone, honestly. It's a backpacking hostel, and there's not really much by way of restaurants or grocery stores anywhere near by, and you provide your own food, so be aware of that. I probably wouldn't stay here again, I thought it was shabby, and honestly not super clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Let me start by saying, if you're after the Ritz, this isn't it! But, I mean that in a good way.

Snowdon Lodge offers ample accommodation (ours was a party of 24, and there was plenty of room so we weren't all getting under each other's feet!). The bedrooms are warm and cosy, and the living areas are comfy enough for a nice relaxing evening.

Most importantly (given the inclement weather conditions we faced!) there's plenty of hot water on tap, and the bath and shower facilities are clean and well maintained.

To cap it off, we were treated to a genuinely warm and friendly welcome on arrival and even given some great advice on our planned trip up Snowdon (thanks for not sending us up the Miners track!!!!).

Value for money is excellent - it worked out around £35 per person for 2 nights.

Highly recommended, and thank you for making a great weekend a warm and snug one!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petet357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

15 of us stayed at the Lodge after completing the 3 Peaks Challenge, and Snowden Lodge was just what we needed. Large, spacious, plenty of beds, showers and toilets... We had everything we needed here. Karl is a great host and recommended some great pubs and restaurants all within walking distance. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

With its warm cosy lounge, ample dinning space, catering kitchen and spacious rooms, this place really makes an ideal accommodation for large groups.
We had a group of over 30 people staying including children. Everyone commented on how great the place was! With Mt Snowdon and the rest of Snowdonia just up the road, you couldn't get better.
We will definitely be visiting again! Many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GingerClide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our group visit to Snowdon Lodge over the bank holiday weekend. This lovely hostel has a really homely feel with all the facilities we needed like a spacious catering kitchen, huge dinning room and cosy lounge with fireplace. Ample parking space, pubs within strolling distance and supermarkets just down the road also make the logistics of looking after a group much easier. Best of all though is the piping hot showers - perfect after a hard day out on the hills!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had a great weekend in Snowdonia. We were 13 families in total with lots of children from 2 to 10 years old. The house is well equipped and has plenty enough space. The bedrooms were fine. Shower rooms were basic, but there was plenty of hot water. Location was good.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank helsbels18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

My partner and I stayed here after we'd spent a (pricey!) night at Portmeirion but wanted a few more days to explore the area.

First of all, let me say this is not a B&B -- it's a backpacking hostel. It never pretends to be a B&B, and it's quite a nice backpacking hostel for the inexpensive price. My partner and I got a private room. It was a bit shabby, but it was clean and had a sink and a window looking out onto the grassy lot behind the house.

There's a public bathroom which you share with the other guests. There weren't many there when we were staying there, so it was quite quiet. I would imagine Tremadog is more popular with adult hikers than students!

The woman who ran the place was very nice and happy to converse with all of the guests. The rooms are mostly in an annex attached to the original house, but the downstairs is very homey - a large living room to watch TV, a big breakfast room with continental breakfast every morning, a den-like library with books and board games to play. We made good use of those!

The also have a small collection of films to watch. The Snowdon Lodge is listed as the birthplace of Lawrence of Arabia, and we were pleased to see a copy of the movie to view in the hostel's film library!

If you need lunch, there's a nice pub just around the corner that serves food.

Overall, the place is a little bit shabby around the edges but in a warm, friendly country house sort of way. It's clean and friendly and definitely worth a visit if you're on a budget! Plus, the town of Tremadog is beautiful (jammed right against the cliff's edge!) and about 20 minutes walk from Porthmadog where you can catch the train into Snowdonia. It's also great if you're on a budget!

  • Liked — The cozy, country atmosphere and that it was the birthplace of Lawrence of Arabia! Nice selection of board games and good to have films too.
  • Disliked — very bare bones rooms, but functional. TV room is often occupied by other guests and there is no sign up or schedule.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon Lodge

Property: Snowdon Lodge
Address: Church Street, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9PS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation at the 4 star Snowdon Lodge from only £450 per night sole use 10 bedrooms, 2 lounges real fire, big kitchen and large dining room sleeping 35 in 30 beds.Whilst retaining lots of the original features, Snowdon Lodge provides the ultimate in clean, comfortable and secure accommodation for all between the mountains and sea in Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snowdon Lodge Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing