We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Fleece Inn
Nearby Hotels
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$156
$152
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$108
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel(Nant Gwynant)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
200
128
74
28
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
128
74
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpuddingsunday lunchlasagnasteak and ale piebooked a tableboth nightsfollowing morninglovely mealmain buildingreal alewould stay againcooked breakfastfish and chipsroaring fireseparate buildingcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 449 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad pub, not bad food,
Ok if you want a pint and ok if you want to eat
Been several times and don't have a bad word to say really. But never excited or leave feeling totally satisfied. Tremadog Tuesdays with the music, good fun old folk music,
Would recommend
Would go again
But not for a special occasion

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thanks for reviewing us. We are about to launch our spring menu so hopeful there will be some thing to excite you on that.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We popped in here for lunch, the last time I was here was about 25 years ago. I loved it. Rustic, charming, great cave-like area behind bar and the chap serving was helpful and charming. We had a fab burger and a bacon and Brie sandwich - both delicious. If you are looking cheap pub meal, this isn't it, but we thought it was excellent for the price and will definitely go back if in area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you returned to us after 25 years! And I'm glad you enjoyed the meals.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a fantastic evening, great service, great food and a friendly atmosphere! Loved the vaulted bar leading to a modern bistro.
We have found really good food hard to find in this area. I would recommend the food to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balmydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ok food but price not justifiable. Not many decent places to eat in port or tremadog, the fleece just do exactly that fleece you, just as well off in the tafarn glanaber, cheaper and bigger meals but just take your antibacterial gel with you and you'll be fine. Sorry fleece, sort the fresh cooked meals out not fresh frozen.....

Stayed: September 2013
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

If you had reviewed us 13 years ago as I took over the business from the previous owner I would have agreed with you as most of the food the chefs bought in was frozen.
However 13 years later things couldn't be more different. I can assure you you have not eaten a frozen microwave meal in my pub!
Our food is prepared freshly, we cook from fresh not frozen and you certainly won't need antibacterial hand gel here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This pubs website is titled the perfect pub. While nice, I'd say this is stretching the defenition somewhat!

As a local, we try lots of pubs in the area - and have been to the Fleece several times in the last 8 years, seen managers come & go, menus & themes change. At present the layout is still the same but with an improved courtyard area out the back.

The pubs "plus" points are also its "minus" points. the main bar area is intimate & cosy with an open log burner in the winter. However its no good for groups of more than 4 as its too cramped. The courtyard area is too cold in winter, altough they have added a roof.

My main gripe with this place are the prices. The food is just pub food, nothing special, yet you can eat in a restaurant with better food for the same or less. A pint of Peroni lager is £4.40 ??? When I visit family / friends in London I don't pay this! - extortionate.... hence the name "Fleece" is quite appropriate!

There seems to be a stock reply from the owners that they aren't the cheapest, and don't want to be. Thats fine - but then you have to offer something above & beyond the basics to justify this statement and the prices charged - given the food on offer and the selection of beers I find this statement quite arrogant.

As for using local ingredients, this isn't a USP as every pub / restaurant we go to in the area uses locally sourced produce - we live in an area that offers some of the best produce anywhere, so to use this as an excuse to charge more than everyone else just isn't justified - because everyone else worth their salt does to!!

Music nights quite good fun, but other than that, this place has an over inflated opinion of itself which is not warranted. OK for the odd drink, but you can have nights out for much better value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fozzy279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews