We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moreton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife celebrated her birthday by staying at the Golden Fleece on 10th December 2011.
We can both say with all honesty that it was excellent !

The pub is exteamly cosy,and the food out of this world.
The room was spotless, and the large flatscreen TV a nice touch

All the staff were very friendly and accomodating, making us both feel at home.
The breakfast served kept us going all day until we got home.

Would recommend without hesitation - brilliant !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your superb review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your wife had a good time during her birthday celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    113
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
68
181
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tywyn gwynedd
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

we have stayed here loads of times over the last 10 years.Very relaxing,we visit every year in the winter months to see are friends.As we used to live here .As we have a restaurant our selves. Its great for someone to look after us for a change. They never let us down. Very comfortable ,clean ,great furnishings homely.well done to Stuart and his team.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaTywynGwynedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your valued comments and your return custom. Always a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

well, we looked on trip adviser for a local restaurant to eat in, as we where staying local, and wanted food for the night. We thought we would have a drink in "The Golden Fleece" while we decided. While sat down i spoke to the people on the next table and asked them what they though the best place to get a steak was in the local area, and also what was this place like ( as there where already tucking into there starters ) this may of been a silly question ? Any way the answers came back - saying "that they stayed in a local caravan park, and ate in the restaurant here all the time, which they really enjoyed." So we gave it a go ! Now this is where the main review starts. We ordered 2 garlic mushroom and the stuffed peppers off the special board to start, and another round of drinks. Then there was the most all mighty down poor of rain outside, which brought our attention. The starter was taking a little time i thought. So i asked the bar person how long it would be. They said that the kitchen had flooded due to the rain, and it had knocked one of the kitchens out, and could we please wait, and they were sorry for the delay. Its not there fault i thought, but i would of preferred someone to tell me rather than me ask. The food turned up, looked great ! so we all started as we are starving. I'm not the smallest of guys, and finished of mine with ease, even the salad. This is when i spotted a problem with my daughter’s food as i was looking into her food thinking either hurry up or I’ll eat it. I took the dish straight away to the manager, and asked him could he please confirm what was in the salad. Too which he did " its a xxxxxxxxxx " , He assured me that the salads where washed , but took the food away from me. I returned to my family too which they asked, what had i done, " they thought i had whisked the remainder mushroom and salad away to ask for a spoon, as the sauce was that nice " nope was my reply. The bar manager came back to me and apologies for the problem and said that we would not be charged for the food, and could he get us another round of drinks ? But we had already ordered the main meal as well, so he had too ask he we still want that , i asked him "What did he think ?" he went away , and came back to say that we would not be charged for the main meal as well. All the way through this the bar manager kept his professionalism to me and to his establishment, and i never raised my voice or demanded any think for free. We agreed to have the main meal, as it was all ready cooked, and i was still starving. There was not a problem with the main meal , and it tasted very nice in deed.
The manager came up to me at the end and apologized once again, and assured me that we where not to pay for any of the food.

Now i have been in a lot of restaurant up and down the country, i eat out 3-4 nights a week, but it is a credit to the bar manager, and this restaurant when even when there is a problem, they looked after us , they addressed the problem with out causing any fuss and to which i made a donation to the Poppy appeal box which was at the end of the bar. for near enough the same cost of the food.

I pointed out this to the bar manager and thanked him for manor in the way he had dealt with the problem. Restaurants and food, is not all about the food it self, but the surroundings and the experience of eating it. Too which i would like to say to every one go here, and enjoy.

Yes i would go back !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord-Collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Let me begin by thanking you for placing your review.
We do agree a member of staff could have informed you that there was going to be a delay on your food.
Salads are indeed washed and we have hygiene score of 5 which is the best a kitchen can get (and any one in the food industry will tell you that this is a very high standard to work to) , I have never had this problem before in 20 years of cooking in a kitchen.
We want all customers to leave happy and in this case felt that we should not charge you for the food, unfortunately as it was so busy I was unable to leave the kitchen to discuss the matter with you personally but as you pointed out our bar man was able to deal with this effectively.
We are gad you left happy and satisfied and hope you will return in the near future.
By the way we raised over £90 for the poppy appeal, thank you for your generous contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Arrived on a wednesday, late afternoon. after a small hitch caused by booking.com, who i will not use again, we signed in for our break. We were shown to our room and so while my partner moved our stuff out of the car i had a pint in the bar. We then ordered food from the menu and specials on the wall, as we did every day. food was of good quality and delivered in a prompt and efficient manner. Moving on the bedroom was very clean and the linen crisp, not one complaint, tv was flat screen and delivered a large choice of channels. Breakfast was also well prepared and there was a large choice. Hotel was in a square, outside the inn was parking, word of advise park so your rear is on the far line, i found if i parked near the curb someone could and will park behind you, it seems the done thing. Area is of outstanding beauty, driving through snowdonia was a pleasure. all in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 face the square if your into people watching, also you can see your car below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50yearoldmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed here last thursday, the room was cleaned and decorated to a high standard. Our experience was really postive, we spent some time in the pub and it was friendly and inviting. I would most definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the building overlooking the square, the view first thing in the morning i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saeeda i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with tripadvisor, and I would agree the view across the square is fantastic in the morning.
We look forwards to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Over the years I've stayed in several pubs in North Wales and frankly the rooms in most of them are grotty. The Golden Fleece breaks that mould; we had three reasonably newly decorated well furnished rooms at a very fair price.

There was a bit of a misunderstanding over our bill when we checked out but a couple of phone calls when we got home resolved that quickly and amicably. Well done! I don't mind that things go wrong sometimes, it happens, but the mark of good service is how they are sorted out and this was done well.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the cottage next door, which some people might think less appealing than in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamtrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments,
I'm sorry I wasn't able to call you back the same night for the refund however I didn't finish cooking in the kitchen until late on and felt it inappropriate to call you back at this time of night.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed in Room 4. It didn't look like the photo - they've recarpeted with a depressing dark grey. Tiny room, tiny telly, room door and bathroom looked like beaten-up student digs. Comfy bed but super thin curtains that let in all the light. The guy chef-ing and looking after our check-in and check-out was friendly but disorganised, couldn't use the computer system and couldn't stop complaining. We arrived for breakfast at 9.25am and didn't get our food till 10.05am - 30 minute wait! Nice pub, very cosy atmosphere, standard pub grub... but there's no way this room was worth £75 for the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
I'm sorry our carpet didn't appeal to your personal taste however it is a very new and luxurious carpet with thick underlay which we believe to be a asset to the room, I have never had a complaint about the colour and think your being more than a little critical!
Room sizes are ALL listed on our website, on the page which you booked trough! I would personally disagree with you, I believe the room is a decent size however you should have checked the details before booking if you wanted a extra large room (possibly room 1 would have suited you better).
I have been up to inspect the doors! ??? The bathroom door is about a week old!! The door into the bedroom has 2 or 3 blemishes on it. It is now listed in our maintenance book to be repainted.
The chef is new and I have taken on board you comments about his knowledge of the computer system, he will be receiving more training this week.
Breakfast is cooked freshly to order and we do not have items under heat lamps because as you are aware the breakfast menu is quite extensive.
Bearing in mind you say you only arrived in the breakfast room at 9.25 (actually it was more like just gone 9.30 which is when we stop doing breakfast) you didn't place your orders straight away so that does account for some of the time!
cooked breakfasts normally arrive within 15min or so which is reasonable given that you can order anything from kippers to full English and plenty in-between. You also have all the cereal, tea, fruit teas, coffee and toast etc to help your self to whilst waiting.
It's disappointing you should write a negative review when you seemed so happy leaving. I would suggest that any one who is not happy with their accommodation should always say something straight away! You would have been offered an instant refund there and then and you could have gone some where else. I can not offer any refunds or discounts once you have left having said nothing.
It's disappointing to read your review on here when we have comment cards in all rooms to help provide us feedback to improve our accommodation and services.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
377 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Property: The Golden Fleece Inn
Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing