We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Hendre Fechan cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge
We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Country style kitchen
On suite
The lounge (a wood burning stove was installed in June 2017)
Lounge
Kitchen
View from the front door
Bathroom
The cottage
The cottage
Bridal path near cottage
Barmouth bridge with Cader Idris in the background
Mawddach estuary
Barmouth bridge
View with the cottage in the background
Cottage garden
Stunning winter view of the mawddach estuary
View of Barmouth Bridge from Morfa Mawddach beach. Really secluded and stunning
Morfa Mawddach beach
Morfa Mawddach is on the other side of the estuary from Barmouth. Taken in April 2016
Sunset views from Morfa Mawddach
To access this beach, walk over Barmouth Bridge and cross over the railway to the beach via footpath
Taly-Bont beach
Taly-Bont beach sunset in October 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Talybont, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tedmus
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked as a birthday getaway for a week for me, my partner and our two dogs, booking process was painless with great communication from the owners.

The cottage itself is lovely, quite a spacious living area and has everything you need including a well set out and well equipped kitchen. Lovely views out to sea and a nice front garden for the dogs to root about. Sam came on our first night to advise they were having issues with the drinking water supply and brought us some bottled water, very kind, as was the the gift of wine left for us on our arrival. Having wifi was a big bonus, we were able to use it to view TV through Fire TV and Now TV which we brought along no problem, basic Sky channels and a DVD player were provided as well. The underfloor heating in the bedroom and bathroom was very welcome (watch your head going into the bathroom if tall and clumsy like me!).

Location is great, only a short trip into Barmouth where you can get most stuff you need from the Co-op. Plenty of other shops there but a lot will be closed if you go out of season. Great beaches nearby, fantastic butchers at the Spar up the road in Dyffryn. We know the area around the Mawddach estuary quite well as we holiday there in Aug/Sept usually so it was nice to see the area North of Barmouth.

We wanted a little escape for a week in a beautiful area with great walks nearby, close enough to amenities but remote enough to hunker down and just relax and it's exactly what we got, will definitely be booking again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
HI; Thank you for your lovely review of the cottage and the surrounding area, we are please you enjoyed stay.

I hope we see you again soon.

All the best Sam xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadeareni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini break”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Such a cosy, well-kept cottage in the perfect setting. Quiet, peaceful and perfect for our trip. Did not have a problem driving up the track slowly and I drive a MINI!! Would definitely reccomend to friends and stay again if we revisit barmouth. Thank you very much for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
HI; Thank you for a lovely review, you where a lovely guest that we hope will visit again.

Take care.

Sam xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W
1 review
“lovely.”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

very relaxing, very well maintaind, if you need a quiet rest its the best place to be,we would go again,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review, it is a quiet peaceful cottage and perfect for a nice rest.
It was lovely hosting your stay, I hope to see you agin sometime.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and beauty of the place
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. There are some fantastic walks from our cottage. It was a pleasure having you stay at our cottage.

I hope to see you again sometime.

All the best Sam xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hilary S
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful quiet location, excellent views, Lane upto cottage could do with some potholes filling in and verges cut back but managed no problem. Would have loved a bath as plenty of room and a working fireplace would be dreamy, really enjoyed our stay dispite the weather.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Hi;
Thank you for you review. Sorry about the lane, we do work on the road but it is an ongoing project our car does the trip five time a day, so we know it is safe for cars. On the plus side we have a log fire being fitted the end of this month May 2017.

Hope to see you again.

Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMorr...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent fully equipped cottage”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I wanted to get away for a few days with the dogs, within an hour of making the initial enquiry we had a quote back and had booked the cottage. We are both pleased we did, the cottage was nicely secluded on the hill side but close enough to the local towns not to be remote. The dogs were in thier element running around exploring the local area. Sam has thought of everything from entertainment, Sky TV, DVD player, stereo, reading books and puzzle books to cleaning kit so the cottage can be kept to the highest standards during the visit. We will be booking again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion and privacy
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Hi;
I am so happy you found everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. I glad the dogs enjoyed their break as well.

Look forward to seeing you again.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice t
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet,secluded cottage.”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the cottage in June 2016.It was a lovely secluded,quiet cottage.Very clean and fresh.WIFI and sky TV.Lovely gift of a bottle of wine and a bottle of water left for us by the owner.The garden was lovely to sit in and was secure for our dog Lily.The only downside was the rough track road up to the cottage but if you took it slow it was fine and the location of the cottage more than made up for this.Would stay again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The seclusion of the cottage.
Liked least: The track up to the cottage although the pay off for this was the quiet location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Hi Janice;
Thank you for a lovely review. I am glad you and Lily had a quiet time at our cottage. Sorry about the lane, it is a bit bumpy but cars find it okay to drive up at a steady pace.

Hope you see you again soon.

Sam xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing